We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in a real Bush”
Review of Wilderness Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Really breathtaking, it is an experience to live in Kenya. The team was incredibly nice and helpful. I couldn't believe my eyes. The view on the fone and the flora was stunning and the tranquility of the place was amazing.

A big thank you to our two guides (Mark & ​​Amos Soit) for their kindness and availability, always there to bring us to the best spot.





Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Frederic,

Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. This camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah, no light pollution, and close to nature. Our focus is to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will definitely recognize our staff for their great effort in making your safari in Kenya more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

This was my third visit to Naboisho and the experience was as amazing as the first time. I had a group of more than 20 friends with me, most had never been to Kenya before and it was fantastic to see it all through their eyes. As usual Shadrack, Steve, Manfred, Edward and the whole team took fantastic care of us and kept surprising us with bush breakfasts, bush dinners and even a traditional Maasai wedding!
Trip of a lifetime, I can't wait to come back.
Thank you for everything and see you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, there's a limited number of tents so it never feels crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at Wilderness Camp, and your feedback. We appreciate your compliments on our camp and comfort. Indeed, these valuable elements form a core part of our concept to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. It’s our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, with ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah, zero light pollution, and close to nature. We will certainly recognize our staff for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This was my wife's and my first visit to Africa and it could not have been better. We particularly enjoyed the Wilderness Camp which is small (five tent cabins) with a great staff of Maasai. It was intimate, the food was delicious, and the campfire with Dorobo, a Maasai warrior, was entertaining. We were very fortunate to have Sampson as our guide while in the Mara Naboisho Conservancy and later in the Maasai Mara National Reserve. He knew the territory and made our daily game drives eventful. We saw lions and leopards from our perfect old style Land Cruiser (no windows). We also enjoyed our morning walking safari and evening game drive adventure seeing the giraffes "necking." by the river and hippos out of the river on their feeding walk. We also saw a hyena steal a gazelle from the jackals. The vultures waited nearby. We recommend the Wilderness Basecamp; the Basecamp Explorer organization does a wonderful job in Kenya. You will appreciate it.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out at the Mara and giraffes grazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your happy experience at Wilderness Camp. We are delighted to know that you and your wife had a wonderful time and that our team was able to cater to your needs during our stay. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed some of the activities that only Naboisho Conservancy guests are allowed to participate in since they are not permitted elsewhere. The team especially will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you for another picture-perfect stay.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This place is amazing. You really feel like you are in the wild. This camp has only a few luxurious tents, and that means its nice and quiet. You feel in touch with nature and the wild. At night you can enjoy a nice glass of wine by the fire, and talk to the amazing Masai`s who works there to protect you from the lions and other dangerous animals. I am really looking forward to my next visit to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lennart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Wilderness Camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, offering guests an ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast savanna, no light pollution, and close to nature and we are glad you had time to enjoy yourself. It is a pleasure to also know that our services meet all your expectations. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The wilderness camp is a truly amazing experience. You sit around the campfire at night, sharing stories with the Masai. You sleep in comfortable beds, and have your own toilet and basic shower in each tent. To me this place manage to find the perfect balance of beeing as close as possible to nature, and the animals, but at the same time be safe and comfortable. I would recommend the fresh fruits and omelet for breakfast. The Masai staff are wonderful, and create a warm including atmosphere. You soon feel that you should stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rolf-Arne Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! Our focus is to provide our guests with an authentic safari experience, with all the modern comfort. Your appreciation about our service and amenities is highly valued as guest satisfaction is our main goal. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another picture-perfect stay.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 087 reviews
0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#11 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
230 reviews
0 km away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#8 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#73 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
0 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 070 reviews
0 km away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Camp

Address: Mara Naboisho Conservancy | C/O Basecamp Explorer Kenya, P.O Box 43369, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: R6 665 - R9 676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilderness Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Camp is designed with a combination of the traditional safari style and a fresh modern feel, for the adventurous and discerning traveler. It is a permanent intimate camp with an easy relaxed atmosphere, providing optimal tranquility that allow guests to enjoy a blend of untamed Africa and a truly natural safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing