We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Porini Lion Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 390
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Elephant Pepper Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$854
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2 500
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 090
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 784
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$940
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governors' Il Moran Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 340
US$1 200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa(Olderkesi Private Reserve)
US$5 437
US$4 687
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
36
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagle viewtranstrek safarisflushing loohot showerperfect staymasai staffwhole teamcomfortable bedsmasai maramanfredsingingsleepecobushguidetentslions
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This place is amazing. You really feel like you are in the wild. This camp has only a few luxurious tents, and that means its nice and quiet. You feel in touch with nature and the wild. At night you can enjoy a nice glass of wine by the fire, and talk to the amazing Masai`s who works there to protect you from the lions and other dangerous animals. I am really looking forward to my next visit to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lennart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Wilderness Camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, offering guests an ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast savanna, no light pollution, and close to nature and we are glad you had time to enjoy yourself. It is a pleasure to also know that our services meet all your expectations. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The wilderness camp is a truly amazing experience. You sit around the campfire at night, sharing stories with the Masai. You sleep in comfortable beds, and have your own toilet and basic shower in each tent. To me this place manage to find the perfect balance of beeing as close as possible to nature, and the animals, but at the same time be safe and comfortable. I would recommend the fresh fruits and omelet for breakfast. The Masai staff are wonderful, and create a warm including atmosphere. You soon feel that you should stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rolf-Arne Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! Our focus is to provide our guests with an authentic safari experience, with all the modern comfort. Your appreciation about our service and amenities is highly valued as guest satisfaction is our main goal. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another picture-perfect stay.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Wilderness Camp is like the other basecampexplorer lodges a charming place to relax, having good food, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent guides. Wilderness Camp is a charming place in the wilderness, whose simplicity has the power to deliver peace of mind, joy and happiness. Thank you Silanke and your whole team for the wonderful stay. We love to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Wilderness Camp as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp and services. It is a pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Everything here is eco oriented. Mixing and blending with nature a beautifully. Even the bathroom quite an experience with bucket water'. I was a bit skeptical at first because there was no fence the bushes seemed so near but then the morans are there to take care of you. I want to hide here many times its very seclusive and the perfect hide out for me who wants peace and quite while thinking, strategising and blending with the wild. the good thing is there are only a few people so no noise. The dinning area and the food is great. The staff were also kind to me. Asante Manfred for driving me around you are a great guide.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wambui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016


Dear Guest,

Wilderness Camp is our nostalgic tribute to the safari of the early explorers, offering guests an ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast savanna, no light pollution, and close to nature and we are glad you had time to enjoy yourself. Our entire team would like to thank you sincerely for finding time to write such positive remarks. It gives us immense pleasure to know that our services meet all your expectations. Your appreciation about our service and amenities is highly valued as guest satisfaction is our prime objective. We look forward to welcoming you back for another perfect stay.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I was there with my husband Roberto from 1 night in August. It was an amazing experience. The place is just fantastic, it looks like you are in the middle of the savannah with all the comforts. The tends are perfect, and during the night you can hear the animals all around. It's a fantastic feeling. We had an amazing dinner - and so lucky to be the only guests on that evening! - sat around the fire with the staff was great and we had a super breakfast, after our game drive early morning. After that, walking to Eagle View Basecamp from there was just fantastic! It's one of the best and authentic place we've ever been and would fly back there immediately. A huge thank you to all the staff over there for treating us so well and for letting us take away with us so many indelible memories! Lisa & Roberto

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Wilderness Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments and the time you took to share your review with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Wilderness Camp. We are so glad that you enjoyed our great tents set in a superb location, very friendly staff offering exceptional services, great food and the great experience. We will share your positive remarks and appreciation to all our staff who made your trip memorable. We hope we shall have the privilege to host you here once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews