We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 370
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$750
US$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$670
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 160
US$1 020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 090
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$792
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$95
US$90
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
US$2 500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
334
30
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
30
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame drivesnational parkamazing experiencewalking safarigreat safarilocal communitiesoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightsasante sanaspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Basecamp is a beautiful, romantic and relaxing bushcamp in the Masai Mara. Most important for us was that is is environmentally friendly. It tries to have as little effect as possible on the ecosystem of the park. And at the same time it was very comfortable. Staff was fabulous helpful and friendly and knowledgeable during the game drives. Food and drink exquisite.
It is close enough to the surrounding community to visit and not only to see animals but to get a taste of the lives of the Masai in the vicinity. It's a must for those who care about the environment and who want to have a few pampered days, away from the hussle and bussle of daily life and experience the beauty of nature in Kenya.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlonaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have just spent a fabulous 3 days at Basecamp Masai Mara
From the moment we arrived it felt like we were a part of the family , the staff from the management , waiters, recptionist , guides et al were very attentive to our needs & nothing was too much
We had a great romantic dinner up in a fig tree on a platform overlooking the talek river and the game reserve it really made a special occasion so much more As for the food , this was excellent and far exceeded our expectations
Whilst the grasses were quite long our driver was amazing able to spot wildlife as tiny spots in the distance and we were lucky enough to see 4 of the big 5
The rooms were comfortable & the camp is run on an eco principle with all waste recycled including dry toilets, the power comes from solar and the free camp walk was very educational , we highly recommend it
The lodge also runs a number of community projects which you are able to visit and support
We would highly recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to the Masai Mara

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwise088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Have been to Basecamp Masai Mara twice and will visit again this exclusive safari lodge, winner of several Eco awards!
The location of the camp is superb and the wildlife and safaries are unforgettable. The Masai staff are friendly and serviceminded and make the stay excotic and comfortable. You should plan a couple of days at the Wildernes camp, where you can stay even closer to the wild animals!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjell46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We both had a dream to travel to Africa with all those images from nature documentaries in our head. Well the dream came true at Basecamp Masaii Mara. Fantastic set up and people. The wildlife was abundant and around you. The guides are local Masaii as are many of the staff. So good we got engaged on the verandah of our luxurious tent. A great experience and would highly recommend. We travelled Africa for 3 months but if we had only a week this is where we would head. Make sure you go out to the wilderness camp for a couple of days after a few at the main camp. Cheers everyone at Basecamp.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indica9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I never get tired of safaris and visiting Basecamp Masai Mara is so much more! The wildlife is fantastic and the closeness to the savannah is awesome, but what you really rembember is the encounter with the Masai people and their very intersting culture. Their new wilderness camp is unique in many senses. The location of the cabins with the fantastic view of a valley full of all the species you like to see on a safari combined with walking safaris where you get even closer to giraffe, zebra, gnus, elephants, different gaselles is like paradise. Lying in bed wacthing sunrise and then the wildlife is something you never forget. At the same time you feel very well taken care of - personal guiding with only your travelcompanions. Food and drinks are excellent and always ending an eventful day by the fireplace is making it all magic. The concept of sustainable tourism is taken to its best with Basecamp Masai Mara and their work with Naibosho Conservancy is very impressive,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamtraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews