We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basecamp Masai Mara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Reviews (365)
    Filter reviews
    366 results
    Traveller rating
    328
    30
    7
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    328
    30
    7
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame drivesamazing experiencewalking safarigreat safarinational parklocal communitiesoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightsasante sanatalek gate
    Filter
    Updating list...
    256 - 261 of 366 reviews
    Reviewed 4 January 2011

    We both had a dream to travel to Africa with all those images from nature documentaries in our head. Well the dream came true at Basecamp Masaii Mara. Fantastic set up and people. The wildlife was abundant and around you. The guides are local Masaii as are many of the staff. So good we got engaged on the verandah of our luxurious tent. A great experience and would highly recommend. We travelled Africa for 3 months but if we had only a week this is where we would head. Make sure you go out to the wilderness camp for a couple of days after a few at the main camp. Cheers everyone at Basecamp.

    • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank indica9
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 December 2010

    I never get tired of safaris and visiting Basecamp Masai Mara is so much more! The wildlife is fantastic and the closeness to the savannah is awesome, but what you really rembember is the encounter with the Masai people and their very intersting culture. Their new wilderness camp is unique in many senses. The location of the cabins with the fantastic view of a valley full of all the species you like to see on a safari combined with walking safaris where you get even closer to giraffe, zebra, gnus, elephants, different gaselles is like paradise. Lying in bed wacthing sunrise and then the wildlife is something you never forget. At the same time you feel very well taken care of - personal guiding with only your travelcompanions. Food and drinks are excellent and always ending an eventful day by the fireplace is making it all magic. The concept of sustainable tourism is taken to its best with Basecamp Masai Mara and their work with Naibosho Conservancy is very impressive,

    • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dreamtraveller59
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 December 2010

    The service and hospitality is excellent. The tent standard was impressive. We can only recommend to all our friends to go there. To be an “eco” camp the standard was very high and more than we had expected.

    The safaris were also very professional organized with experienced guides who found animals “all over”.

    • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Maartmann
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 October 2010

    The location, the decor (eco-friendly and simply beautiful), the amenities, the attention to detail, the staff, and the guides are all superb. Add to this the beauty of the Mara and the array of wildlife in and around Basecamp, and this place is hard to beat. I've been twice and will definitely visit again for, I hope, a longer stay. The tents are large, comfortable and, in a word, lovely, as is the bathroom (yes, composting toilet, too) and outdoor shower that's been crafted into the nook of a tree limb. The food is excellent (I'm a vegan and had great meals) and the staff is extremely well-informed, interested, friendly and keen to share details about the Mara and the lodge. It's hard to say enough about the guides: smart, dedicated and engaging. I learned a lot and enjoyed each minute of the "game" drives. On my most recent visit, we saw 18 lions in one pride, several groups of elephants, lots of wildebeest and buffalo, giraffes, zebras, crocodiles, among others. I also took a great walk to the Basecamp tree nursery. We stepped in the footprints of elephants who'd been there (trampling seedlings and fencing) the night before. The place, the people, the landscape, the animals: all simply wonderful. Go - and stay.

    • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank GreenBrooklyn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 September 2010

    We stayed in the base camp for 3 nights and I love the tent, the hammock, and the view of the little stream where you can see baboons crossing. The outdoor bath was also pretty cool and was pleasantly suprised that the water was hot.Service was also good and the food was pretty good. When we have breakfast in the morning, you can see zebras and wildebeest grazing from afar. .

    The tents were cool and airy at night, and they have us a water bottle and it gets a bit chilly in the night. Nothing beats the feeling of sleeping to the lullaby of the wildlife in the night and waking up to the birds chirping.

    The only drawback in the eco lodge is that there isn't a flushing toilet, so I think they should have provided a bottle of air refresher to help freshen up the place

    .

    • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SYLing
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews