We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GREAT MIGRATION & THE BIG 5-MASAI AND NAKURU,KENYA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Many thanks to Mr.Sam Waweru,of Essenia Safari Experts Ltd,Nairobi,Kenya,for drafting out the fantastic customized tour itinery to Kenya,Ugnada & Zambia.My wife,Kripa,drafted out the plan of what things to do in these places & sam did a wonderful job.Thanks also to Chirag Maru,of Travel Point LLC(vacations division),Muscat,Oman,for his efforts in coordinating the tour plan.The tour plan was to see the GREAT MIGRATION,THE BIG 5,FALMINGOS(all in Kenya)
Had an excellent guide in Deedan in Kenya.HE not just greeted us on arrival with a placard but had a huge welcome smile and this really made us feel at home.He did a great job in being perfect host & showed us what we had gone to see.
We stayed at the Base camp,Masai Mara & Flamingo Hill camp,Nakuru.the accommodation was really good & in commune with nature & the hospitality of staff par excellence.A big thank you to all the staff in these lodges for making our stay a wondereful experience.
All in all, a great tour which we will cherish in our lifetime.We would give an overall 5 star rating
THE BEST TIME TO SEE THE BIG5 AND THE GREAT MIGRATION IN KENYA-JULY/AUGUST

Room Tip: Mr.Sam Waweru,of Essenia Safari Experts Ltd,Nairobi,Kenya, .his mobile no. +254 723 775748-FOR A WON...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Narayan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Narayan,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your safari experience in Africa. We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We loved the Basecamp at Masai Mara and we were so excited of staying at Obama Tent (now I can tell everyone that I’ve already slept on Obama’s bedJ).
This place was magical, so peaceful and natural. The river view from our tent was simply amazing. The tents are secure, clean and comfortable.
At night we were strongly protected by the Masai guards…and they really have hard work…one night I wake up and there were getting leopards away from the resort.
It’s common to see animals on the river, during the night, drinking water and sometimes trying to cross the river, but there’s always a Masai vigilant to guard your tent.
By morning they escort you to the breakfast with a smile and full of stories to tell you about the adventures of previous night and show us the
Special mention to Ben, which served us every meals with a smile.
All meals were so good, diverse and tasty and the everyday soups were delicious , even my kids loved their soups.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Patel,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We thank you once again for your positive remarks, it is through such interactions that we have continued to improve our service delivery. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Masai Mara base camp and eagle view camp are the beautiful place with amazing game drive .
Wilderness base camp is the best for me ,because is the place for doing amazing walking safari and meeting true Masai people with good heart .
Big thank to all the staff specially to Murfied our fantastic guide ,Do robot our powerful safety guard during walking safari and Edward very professional maître hotel .
I will never forget them.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lud2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Lud,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat during a walking safari is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Honestly, I couldn't have dreamed of a better experience. Richard and Sampson were the best guides anyone could hope for. They were hilarious and very knowledgeable and Sampson can drive a safari truck like you would not believe and has the eyes of a hawk. We saw so many animals, even on days when others saw very little.

The accommodations were lovely and comfortable. They put hot water bottles in our beds at night. The food was great. The people who ran the camp really made it. They were so friendly and warm and I miss them already. I learned a lot from them and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Brigitte,

Basecamp Team would like to thank you sincerely for finding time to write such positive remarks about our Camp. It is a pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. Having such positive reviews motivates us to always make an effort to maintain high standards both in service and experience to make our guests always feel welcome in our Camp. Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We will certainly recognize Richard and Sampson for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Base camp is a luxury tented camp with many different sustainability initiatives.
We also planted a tree in de reforestation program (not a whole forest as Obama did).
The meals were great and the guids were excellent.
The only negative point is that the camp is located very close to a local village at the border of the national park.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Carsten,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara. Many thanks also for sharing your feedback. We are really happy to know that all aspects of your stay were up to your needs and to your satisfaction. Indeed, we are committed to providing the best in facilities and service, as well as constantly trying our best to promote sustainable tourism. We also thank you for being part of our effort in reviving the Maasai Mara’s original biodiversity through tree planting. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18,8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 087 reviews
10,8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
245 reviews
4,9 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#11 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
230 reviews
27,3 km away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
865 reviews
45,9 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: R3 995 - R6 663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing