We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax at the edge of nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

This was the best stay in Kenya we had during our trip.
We had a tent near the river, very closed from all the rest. (tent 3 if anyone would like to reserve :) )
The employees are friendly and helpful. (standing outside at ALL times of the day and night to guide you to any point you need to go -> we had an early morning safari and they were there to light us to our vehicle)
The tents are more like houses and are very luxury.
The food was great and was prepared with great care.
The safari's can start from the back of the camp, so you're just a sigh away from the wildlife.
There might be some noises from dogs, but hey ... you're in the wild, it might as well be wild dogs :) (to be sure of a good sleep I suggest ear plugs if you're a light sleeper)
We would surely advice this camp as a starting point of your safari in Masai Mara.

Room Tip: We had tent 3 (with 3 people) which was amazing with an outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Johan,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On the behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We had a very mixed experience at Basecamp Maasai Mara. We were there on one of their Basecamp circuit tours to the three main Basecamp camps (Maasai Mara, Eagle View & Wilderness). Because it was booked as a package we didn't get to choose our room and were put in one of the budget rooms - not on the river and not very private with lots of staff walking past the balcony. Worth checking this when booking.

We loved the food here - the chef and kitchen staff were great and they really worked to accommodate dietary requirements - properly substituting food rather than just removing it (unlike at Eagle View). It is a set menu though (aside from dietary requirements), so no choice but there was always plenty of food and it was really good quality.

Our check-in/check-out experience wasn't great with confusing, rude service and things missing from the room (only one chair, one towel etc.). Even though we had told them it was for a honeymoon they tried to put us in a twin room rather than a double, but they did move us when we asked about it.

The main issue with this camp is the location. It is near a local town which means that you get a lot of noise from the dogs at night and the local Maasai sneak their cows into the Reserve at night time right past the camp. There are huge, muddy swathes of land that have been damaged by this process just outside the front door. I can understand why they do it, but if you are looking for a beautiful nature experience, this takes away from it somewhat. It is also some distance from the Mara River, so it is a bit of a drive to see the crossings, although that was OK because you can always chance upon game on the drive.

Our guide was Manfred who was super knowledgeable and exceptionally good at 4WDing (which came in handy as we had a lot of rain). He was just OK at spotting animals and wasn't always very communicative, but overall was good. He was also extremely patient at looking everywhere for leopards which we really wanted to see, although weren't lucky this trip.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you have one of the nicer rooms by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kateus_almora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Kateus,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! It is through such interactions, that we have continued to improve our service delivery, enabling us to grow from strength to strength. Basecamp Masai Mara is where guests become more than visitors, they become part of the Maasai community. It was great of you to point out on the positives you experienced with our food, chef and safari experience. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We would like to apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our guest's experience. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with our guests and we want you to arrive as a guest, stay as a friend, leave as a partner. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We started our safari in Masai Mara and spent three wonderful nights at the Base Camp Explorer. We had an awesome and comfortable tent which faced the river and the baboons were right outside.
The food is delicious.
We also appreciated the Masai guides on the property.
A special Thank You to our safari guide Alex! Truly was a pleasure spending time with him.
And, BE SURE to stop in the gift shop - all items locally made and support the women in the community.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bas0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. We will certainly recognize Alex for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. We look forward to another opportunity to create an exciting experience for you.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The great jungle safari in Masai Mara is the biggest and the best experience of a life time.
We saw at least a million animals in 10 days with live action of group of lionesses backed by Lion planning a kill.
100 Elephants goon in one direction and another 90 cross crossing them in midst of ants like gathering of wildest beast around them.
Dozens of Hippos together with a dozen of alligators on the other side of the river with a gun man by your side on border of Kenya and Tanzania big migration.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SKKHANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate having taken your time to review your safari experience with us. We strive to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainability and commitment towards the local community. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back sometime, soon!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I traveled with my two daughters to the three Basecamp Explorer tented camps in Kenya in late July. I still wake up every morning thinking about the savannah. My biggest thank you goes to our guide, Manfred Tumanka Narinda, who made the trip better than I had hoped for. He is a combination of charming, knowledgable, funny and easy to be around. I certainly didn't have a question that he couldn't answer. The abundance of wildlife during the wildebeest migration is truly a wonder. The three camps were comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. All our transfers and connections were seamless. I probably liked Wilderness Camp the best because it was closest to being right on the savannah. I feel grateful that I got to see this wonderful place in my lifetime and that I was introduced to it by Manfred.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Marnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Marnie,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will certainly recognize Manfred for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. It will be a great pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 067 reviews
10.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
0.9 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 058 reviews
10.0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
36.5 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: R3 836 - R6 384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing