We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$750
US$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 160
US$1 020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$854
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 090
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$792
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$95
US$90
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
US$2 500
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
334
30
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
30
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame drivesnational parkamazing experiencewalking safarigreat safarilocal communitiesoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightsasante sanaspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We started our safari in Masai Mara and spent three wonderful nights at the Base Camp Explorer. We had an awesome and comfortable tent which faced the river and the baboons were right outside.
The food is delicious.
We also appreciated the Masai guides on the property.
A special Thank You to our safari guide Alex! Truly was a pleasure spending time with him.
And, BE SURE to stop in the gift shop - all items locally made and support the women in the community.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bas0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. We will certainly recognize Alex for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. We look forward to another opportunity to create an exciting experience for you.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

The great jungle safari in Masai Mara is the biggest and the best experience of a life time.
We saw at least a million animals in 10 days with live action of group of lionesses backed by Lion planning a kill.
100 Elephants goon in one direction and another 90 cross crossing them in midst of ants like gathering of wildest beast around them.
Dozens of Hippos together with a dozen of alligators on the other side of the river with a gun man by your side on border of Kenya and Tanzania big migration.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SKKHANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate having taken your time to review your safari experience with us. We strive to provide an authentic safari experience, with all modern comfort, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainability and commitment towards the local community. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back sometime, soon!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I traveled with my two daughters to the three Basecamp Explorer tented camps in Kenya in late July. I still wake up every morning thinking about the savannah. My biggest thank you goes to our guide, Manfred Tumanka Narinda, who made the trip better than I had hoped for. He is a combination of charming, knowledgable, funny and easy to be around. I certainly didn't have a question that he couldn't answer. The abundance of wildlife during the wildebeest migration is truly a wonder. The three camps were comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. All our transfers and connections were seamless. I probably liked Wilderness Camp the best because it was closest to being right on the savannah. I feel grateful that I got to see this wonderful place in my lifetime and that I was introduced to it by Manfred.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Marnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Marnie,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On behalf of our entire staff, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our Camps and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests, whilst maintaining a strong focus on sustainable tourism. We will certainly recognize Manfred for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. It will be a great pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We had been in Kenya in other lodges and the tents are much more better in other places. Old and dusty tents with holes, mosquitos everywhere and really old furniture. The basecamp explorer is know because Obama stayed at it, but to be honest the only great thing this hotel has is the staff (which is awesome) and the food (the chef is also awesome). There is no choice in the food and they have a set menu. If you can, eat here but don't over.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Marta,
We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp Masai Mara and for sharing your experience with us. We were pleased to read you were happy with the service from our helpful staff and also your culinary experience. These are some of the valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide an authentic safari experience to all our guests.

We are sorry to hear there were some issues in regards to your accommodation. We have noted all your comments about aspects of the room that needs updating and it is a pleasure to announce that we are in the process of a  full refurbishment and soon we will be done with all the rooms complete with an indoor or private outdoor shower option.

We are always open to our guest feedback and views since our greatest aim is to ensure complete guest satisfaction and memorable moments. It will be a great pleasure to host you in the future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We got lucky, we arrived at the same time all the wildebeast where there. Our tent had great view on the Masai Mara, and ice on the cake, it was the Obama tent where he had stayed, which added to the wow factor. Outside is an Obama forest as well where he, his wife and 2 children put down a tree each.

The camp has a central space with free wifi and good food. If you lank to drink something special ask for a Stoney Tangawizi, a local ginger beer (no alcohol).

Room Tip: Tent 16 is the Obama tent, tent 15 was the one his children slept in during the visit.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhnld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews