We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the great migration in the Obama tent...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We got lucky, we arrived at the same time all the wildebeast where there. Our tent had great view on the Masai Mara, and ice on the cake, it was the Obama tent where he had stayed, which added to the wow factor. Outside is an Obama forest as well where he, his wife and 2 children put down a tree each.

The camp has a central space with free wifi and good food. If you lank to drink something special ask for a Stoney Tangawizi, a local ginger beer (no alcohol).

Room Tip: Tent 16 is the Obama tent, tent 15 was the one his children slept in during the visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhnld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We also thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

This was a great camp - the location is unique surrounded by so much wildlife. The food was very good and the service was great. The entire staff had a customer centered approach and made us feel welcomed, comfortable and safe. Interesting nights listening to the animal noises but with the warriors constant guard you always felt safe. Even though it is an eco camp, you have all the comforts you will need. We so enjoyed our time and wish we would have had a few more days at the location. They anticipated our needs and focused on top level service. It was our son's birthday and the surprise celebration they provided with their traditional song and dance was so wonderful and touching. Can't say enough good things about our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate having taken your time to review our camp and for your positive comments regarding your stay at Camp. We are always open to our guest feedback and views. Our greatest aim is to ensure complete guest satisfaction and memorable moments and we are happy to have matched your expectation. We will certainly share your feedback with the entire staff as it will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously ensure our guests have a more memorable safari experience. We do hope that upon your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy our camp a little bit longer.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

This is a gem within the Masai Mara.

We came for just an overnight stay from Nairobi, and aside from the wonderful game drives (there are never any guarantees but we saw 5 cheetahs, 5 separate prides of lions including several cubs, as well as elephants, hyenas, crocodiles, giraffes, hippos etc in fact we only failed to spot a leopard and a rhino over our two days), we were treated to a lovey and comfortable tent (with proper eco-shower and bathroom facilities) within a stunning setting with thoughtful, attentive and very friendly staff.

We do not have a bad word to say about the place and would highly recommend it. We had an amazing overnight stay that will remain with us forever.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Christophe,

Thanks a lot for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp, staff and your experience. You came as a guest and you left as a friend, a practice we always aim to achieve as a team. We do hope that upon your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy our camp a little bit longer.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Our best recomandation to this exciting camp with very friendly Staff and goodlooking "rooms".
We experienced all We came for, and was very happy with our guide Manfred. We felt so lucky!
We stayed for 3 nights in 2 different camps, and that was just perfect for us. Remember to bring thick clothes - the morning and evenings are cold. We used wool etc every day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank kariroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Kari,

We thank you for staying with us at Basecamp and we value your feedback. On the behalf of the entire staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Basecamp Masai Mara as your destination. Thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay at our camp. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We will certainly recognize Manfred for his great effort to make your safari more memorable. Hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights with Base Camp as, well, our base camp for a first afternoon and two full days of game viewing. Our tent was more than comfortable, spotless and poised on the lip of the Talek river bank among fever and giant fig(?) trees. The restaurant boma is rustic and real, and the nightly campfire ringed by Maasai men is not just for atmosphere. The night resounds with the noise of the real African bush: distant hyena and lion, very close leopard and baboon, and one drifts awake to be aware of regular and reassuring torch patrols around the tents through the night. Base Camp's meals are hearty, honest, wholesome and wonderfully plated, and the staff are warm and welcoming at all times. One if our reasons for visiting Kenya was a big birthday (later in the year) for my wife, Liz. The entire restaurant and kitchen staff gave her an early birthday surprise that will remain in our hearts forever.

If we can make it happen, we will return to the Mara because one visit is never enough. When we do go back, Base Camp will be, well, a base camp! Asante sana, guys! Your welcome and work are what make Kenya special!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our camp, and for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the guided tour in the Masai Mara. Our camp aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our camps in the future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 064 reviews
10.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
0.9 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 055 reviews
10.0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#11 of 145 in Masai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
36.5 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#20 of 145 in Masai Mara National Reserve
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: R3 760 - R6 257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Jovago.com so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing