We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Mara Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basecamp Masai Mara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights with Base Camp as, well, our base camp for a first afternoon and two full days of game viewing. Our tent was more than comfortable, spotless and poised on the lip of the Talek river bank among fever and giant fig(?) trees. The restaurant boma is rustic and real, and the nightly campfire ringed by Maasai men is not just for atmosphere. The night resounds with the noise of the real African bush: distant hyena and lion, very close leopard and baboon, and one drifts awake to be aware of regular and reassuring torch patrols around the tents through the night. Base Camp's meals are hearty, honest, wholesome and wonderfully plated, and the staff are warm and welcoming at all times. One if our reasons for visiting Kenya was a big birthday (later in the year) for my wife, Liz. The entire restaurant and kitchen staff gave her an early birthday surprise that will remain in our hearts forever.

If we can make it happen, we will return to the Mara because one visit is never enough. When we do go back, Base Camp will be, well, a base camp! Asante sana, guys! Your welcome and work are what make Kenya special!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our camp, and for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the guided tour in the Masai Mara. Our camp aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our camps in the future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

This was a great place to stay while in the Maasai Mara, the food was excellent and the tents were super nice! The Maasai Mara is such a special place, Base Camp made it even better, I loved this place!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miami_FL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We spent 2 nights at Basecamp Masai mara and another 4 at their Eagle view lodge in Naboisho and I have to say, that it was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives. Basecamp does a fantastic job of providing you with all the city conveniences that you are used to but at the same time offering you a true Masai experience. The staff are very experienced and very helpful, the accommodation is very comfortable and yet very environment friendly and the food is better than most city hotels! The guides are also very experienced and always went the extra mile to ensure we have a great time. Thanks to them, we were able to see 4 of the Big 5 in just 2 days! I would really recommend Basecamp for anyone traveling to the Mara.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Nitish,

Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience with Basecamp Explorer with others here on Trip Advisor. The fact that you mention that our camps were, without a doubt, the best run camps you've ever been on means a lot to us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything from the excellent service to our outstanding accommodation units and food. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We chose to stay at this place based on Tripadvisor review and the fact that we didn't want to stay in a 'branded' hotel. We were not disappointed. When we got there, there was a mix up with a rooms which was sorted out asap. We had doubles and the family room which is two doubles (and two bathrooms) joined together. You get a feel of being in the outdoors. The meals were great each night and the waiters would tell us whats on the menu in case we didn't like it and would cook us up an alternative. The food was plentiful and tasty, even the kids enjoyed it, The freshly baked bread, soups, main meals and desserts. Always something different everyday The dining area is covered but open. We hired a car and driver from the place who picked us up from Nairobi and he certainly knew his way around the game park and we saw everything except rhinos. The bathrooms have running hot water, flushable loos and toiletries. Saw the trees the Obama family planted onsite when they visited. Its noisy at night, but thats to be expected. Lots of monkeys around the site too. Would i stay there again? Definately!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alina206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Alina,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara. Many thanks also for sharing your feedback. We are really happy to know that all aspects of your stay were up to your needs and to your satisfaction. We appreciate your compliments on our Camp and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Basecamp, and all the staff, is wonderful. Everyone was very friendly, very attentive to any of your needs. Food is excellent, surroundings are very nice. The tents are well equipped with running water and normal bathroom facilities. Beds can be a little hard, but at the end of the day we were so tired it wasn't hard to sleep. We spent a lot of time around the fire at nite, which was fun. The wifi at the restaurant area was very well. We won't be back to Africa, but if so I would definitely stay here again. Very pleased with our stay. Great memories.

Room Tip: We stayed in #13 and had a nice view of the river. #15 is very close, a short walk, to the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your review with us. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at Basecamp Masai Mara. Indeed, we are committed to providing the best in facilities and service to all our guests. We deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 068 reviews
10.8 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
0.9 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 059 reviews
10.0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
36.5 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Masai Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Masai Mara

Address: Talek, C14, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: R3 865 - R6 433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basecamp Masai Mara 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Masai Mara provides 12 spacious and luxurious tents, bordering the Masai Mara National reserve, on a lush peninsula in the Talek River, with spectacular views of the savannah. You have your own veranda overlooking the river, bathroom en-suite with a hot solar heated shower open to the sky. Enjoy the amazing wildlife from your tent, the fig-tree platform, or in the open-air bar - a responsible approach to the classic safari ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Basecamp Masai Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Masai Mara Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing