We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Basecamp Masai Mara
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$633
US$403
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$333
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leopard Hill(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$785
US$590
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$205
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$291
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (361)
    Filter reviews
    362 results
    Traveller rating
    324
    30
    7
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    324
    30
    7
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame drivesstayed for one nightamazing experienceeco friendly campwalking safarigreat safarinational parklocal communitiesanimal noisesmain campoutdoor showerthree nights
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    54 - 59 of 362 reviews
    Reviewed 3 July 2017

    This was a great place to stay while in the Maasai Mara, the food was excellent and the tents were super nice! The Maasai Mara is such a special place, Base Camp made it even better, I loved this place!

    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Miami_FL99
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

    Dear Guest,

    We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! It's our highest priority to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

    Basecamp Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 June 2017

    We spent 2 nights at Basecamp Masai mara and another 4 at their Eagle view lodge in Naboisho and I have to say, that it was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives. Basecamp does a fantastic job of providing you with all the city conveniences that you are used to but at the same time offering you a true Masai experience. The staff are very experienced and very helpful, the accommodation is very comfortable and yet very environment friendly and the food is better than most city hotels! The guides are also very experienced and always went the extra mile to ensure we have a great time. Thanks to them, we were able to see 4 of the Big 5 in just 2 days! I would really recommend Basecamp for anyone traveling to the Mara.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
    • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nitish V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

    Dear Nitish,

    Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience with Basecamp Explorer with others here on Trip Advisor. The fact that you mention that our camps were, without a doubt, the best run camps you've ever been on means a lot to us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything from the excellent service to our outstanding accommodation units and food. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

    Basecamp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 June 2017

    We chose to stay at this place based on Tripadvisor review and the fact that we didn't want to stay in a 'branded' hotel. We were not disappointed. When we got there, there was a mix up with a rooms which was sorted out asap. We had doubles and the family room which is two doubles (and two bathrooms) joined together. You get a feel of being in the outdoors. The meals were great each night and the waiters would tell us whats on the menu in case we didn't like it and would cook us up an alternative. The food was plentiful and tasty, even the kids enjoyed it, The freshly baked bread, soups, main meals and desserts. Always something different everyday The dining area is covered but open. We hired a car and driver from the place who picked us up from Nairobi and he certainly knew his way around the game park and we saw everything except rhinos. The bathrooms have running hot water, flushable loos and toiletries. Saw the trees the Obama family planted onsite when they visited. Its noisy at night, but thats to be expected. Lots of monkeys around the site too. Would i stay there again? Definately!

    • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Alina206
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

    Dear Alina,

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Basecamp Masai Mara. Many thanks also for sharing your feedback. We are really happy to know that all aspects of your stay were up to your needs and to your satisfaction. We appreciate your compliments on our Camp and our always helpful staff, indeed all these are valuable elements that form a core part of our concept to provide authentic exceptional safari experiences to our guests. We would be delighted to host you again in the great Savannah and make your stay more memorable.Thank you and all the best!

    Basecamp Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 June 2017

    Basecamp, and all the staff, is wonderful. Everyone was very friendly, very attentive to any of your needs. Food is excellent, surroundings are very nice. The tents are well equipped with running water and normal bathroom facilities. Beds can be a little hard, but at the end of the day we were so tired it wasn't hard to sleep. We spent a lot of time around the fire at nite, which was fun. The wifi at the restaurant area was very well. We won't be back to Africa, but if so I would definitely stay here again. Very pleased with our stay. Great memories.

    Room Tip: We stayed in #13 and had a nice view of the river. #15 is very close, a short walk, to the restaurant.
    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Linda L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

    Dear Linda,

    Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your review with us. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at Basecamp Masai Mara. Indeed, we are committed to providing the best in facilities and service to all our guests. We deeply appreciate your recommendation to other guests. We hope to see you once again.

    Basecamp Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

    We went on a trifecta tour of the basecamp Mara camps over 4 nights starting1 night in talek,1 night at wilderness camp in naibosho and ending with 2 nights at the stunning eagle view camp which was a 1 hour hike through the bush from wilderness. Amazing game viewing with great guides and looked after like royalty! Highly recommended!

    Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    Thank Robin A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Basecamp K, Manager at Basecamp Masai Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

    Dear Robin,

    We appreciate having taken your time to review our camps and for your positive comments regarding your stay. Basecamp Team is delighted to know that we could meet all your expectation. Indeed, getting the opportunity to watch as the wild animals go about their day in their natural habitat is an amusing and perhaps the most rewarding moment in the Mara. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you.

    Basecamp Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews