We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 160
US$1 020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$854
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$750
US$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 617
US$1 370
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 090
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$792
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$95
US$90
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
US$2 500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
332
30
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
30
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbase campeagle viewmasai marathe riverdomestic airportgame drivesamazing experiencewalking safarinational parkgreat safarilocal communitiesoutdoor showeranimal noisesmain campthree nightsasante sanatalek gate
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Basecamp Masai Mara is something I'm going to remember for the rest of my life. Everything was perfect, me and fellow students saw all the animals we could wish for to see in Africa. The guides are so nice, and they have an answer to all questions! Basecamp is something I'm going to recommend to all my friends and family, because it's so amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

This camp, and its atmosphere, is one of a kind. It is hard to start explaining how amazing the stay at this camp was - you need to go experience it for your self. Not only do you feel really safe and taken care of by the masais, hosts and the staff you are also served delicious food, taken on unforgettable gamedrives and getting the opportunity to see all kind of exotic animals. This is absolutely a place worth visiting. Thank you Basecamp Masai Mara for giving me the most unique memories that I will appreciate and remember for the rest of my life. (we'll meet again!)

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

We booked 4 nights/5 days with Basecamp Explorer, staying at 3 different camps, starting at Basecamp Masai Mara where we spent 1 night.
We were picked up at the Olkiombo airstrip by our guide, who after a paying our park fees drove us to the camp. En route we say quite an array of animals, including a small elephant herd, giraffes, various antelope types, wart hogs, etc.
We drove to the camp via Talek village. I recommend that you ask your guide/driver to drive through the National Park instead, so that you enter the camp via the footbridge from the park, which is a prettier experience, as we found out when we went on our game drives.

We had 2 game drives in the park, one in the afternoon and one next morning. Our excellent guide pointed out animals, birds, trees, etc while driving safely at the same time. Very impressive! We saw two different cheetahs, one with 3 cubs! No lions this time, but we got lots of them at the next camps (see separate reviews).

Lunch, dinner and breakfast were all very good. Tasty food, decent portion sizes, but not extravagant. The staff was very friendly and courteous, from the reception people, cooks and waiters, to the shop assistant.

We had a great room/tent. It was number 16, by the river bank, looking right into the river. Due to the season we didn´t see any animals there, but what you see depends on when you go. Our room is also known as the "Obama room", where Barrack Obama and his family stayed when they were there. Try to get tents by the river if you can. We had brought extra mosquito nets "just in case", but there was no need for them.

We took part in the presentation of their community work which was more enlightening than I had anticipated. Great to see that the Masai women get to keep the money they earn! I wish there had been even more information on the projects that Basecamp has supported. Our guide said that their presence is very important to the community. $80 of the daily rate is the fee to visit the national park.



Wifi was only available in the reception.

All in all a very good start to our safari week!

Room Tip: Ask for a "tent" by the river (about half of them are by the river).
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sverre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

I travelled to basecamp with fellow students, and we all had an amazing time. The service and atmosphere is great, and the Masai's are so friendly and take really good care of you. They also have so much knowledge about the wildlife in Kenya, and we learned so much. I will definitely come back as soon as possible with friends and family :)

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Basecamp Masai mara was absolutely amazing, we got to see all the great five within 24 hours and all the other beautiful animals that lives in the Mara. The mood in the camp was breathtaking and the guides were absolutely amazing. we were served delicious food and super service throughout your stay.

Thank you so much for a memory that will last for the rest of my life!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Signe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews