We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
256
15
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
15
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basecamp explorer walking safari outdoor shower game drives female guide salt lick watering hole guiding school eco lodge masai guides local community fantastic days vantage point water hole animal behavior two nights main tent
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Me and my mother had the time of our life, staying at the Basecamp Eagle view and Wilderness camp. From arriving until we left we were in the hands of very professional, knowledgeable and positive guides, and everybody there had a clear idea of our programme. Having enquired about a particular souvenir I wanted to find, one of the staff had this arranged and presented some options to me the day after.

In terms of activities, we took part in both the game drives and walking safaris. The game drives were in solid terrain vehicles with plenty of storage space, a cooler with drinks in it, and an open roof (allowing for looking out in 360). The walking safaris were really professionally managed, and we had multiple experienced Masai guards with us. We saw an abundance of animals, all up-close. And we were really impressed by the ability of the guides to locate animals (the most extreme being spotting a lion from about a kilometer away, the zoom of my camera barely managed to).

In terms of the accommodation, Eagle View was incredibly proper, with an outdoor and indoor shower, plenty of hot water, a secluded location with no close neighbours, a good bed, charging facilities, bottled water and bug spray provided and even a laundry service. Wilderness Camp, although in a tent, had almost the same standard (really the most luxurious tent I've ever been in). If you really want to live close to nature, the latter is recommended. Here we were eating dinner whilst listening to some hyenas hunting no more than 100 meters away, feeling completely safe as we had at least 3 Masai surveilling their every move.

The airport is also an incredible experience, literally landing in the middle of the savanna, with surprisingly good facilities. To illustrate, one funny story I heard was of a Masai guard having to clear the runway of Zebras before take-off. The flight from Nairobi also has some amazing nature scenes.

Moreover, by supporting the Basecamp project, you are supporting the sustainable conservation of nature, the wellbeing of the Masai community and enjoying some incredible food along the way. The Naboisho Conservancy is managed very responsibly and as such you will mostly be out by yourself (with some Masai guides of course). In the main Masai Mara park the game drives are done in much larger groups and as such the intimacy with nature is not as strong.

If you are doing a safari, make it Basecamp!

Room tip: All rooms are good! If you are a family Eagle View has some cabins with an additional smaller cabin...
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Aleander,

Thank you for having chosen Basecamp Eagle View as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View a variety of wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes are able to roam freely within the camp's environs and in the conservancy making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp. The team especially will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! We look forward to your next visit.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Our stay was just perfect from the beginning to the end! We enjoyed the staff's great hospitality, the amazing view, the luxurious accommodation and above all the opportunity of seeing a lot of animals at a very close distance. Having a walking safari once or twice is really recommended. Both in the jeeps and during the walking safaries the Masai guides shared all their knowledge and they really do know a lot; very interesting. We also spent a night at Wilderness Camp, and we couldn't have imagined that an ecological tent camp in the middle of the Savannah could be that luxurious. We really appreciate that the concept is ecological and sustainable.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased to learn that you had a great time with us. We are glad to know that we managed to deliver more of what is expected by our guests! We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back with your family sometime, soon!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I cannot recommend staying here enough. Absolutely beautiful. Amazing accommodations. But above all, the nature you will see is incredible. ASK FOR LORNA AND JOHN as your guides. They were unbelievable guides! There wasn't a question they couldn't answer or an animal they couldn't get us close to. Hippos, male lions, female lions, lion cubs, zebras, giraffes, cheetah, leopard, hyena, gazelle, buffalo, jackal -- we saw it all. One of the best and most enjoyable vacations I've ever been on.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Daniel,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Eagle View. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation about our service and amenities are highly valued as guest satisfaction is our prime objective. We will certainly recognize Lorna and John for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Our time at Eagle View was incredible. We were fortunate enough to celebrate New Years with the outstanding staff. The staff and the views made this stop unforgettable. The lodge sits atop the Mara with 180 degree views. Fabulous accommodations: clean, private, Mara views, and cozy rooms. We loved the outdoor shower and our beds made for a great rest each night. The staff makes the difference here, with their personal connections and hospitality. Five stars!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Lily,

We thank you for staying with us at Eagle View. It is great to hear, that you did enjoy your stay with us. Our priority is to keep a high level of satisfaction to all our guests and we are happy to know that we met your expectation. Rest assured, that we will also share your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure we maintain the best services for guests. It was great hosting you and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future. See you soon.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Perfect in every way. Eagle View is in a stunning location within the conservancy, and is designed with guests' comfort in mind. Our guest lodge ('tent') was large, airy, modern and comfortable, with fantastic views over a natural water hole and salt lick, regularly visited by a wide range of wild animals. All the staff were friendly and helpful, with particular mentions for James, who cheerfully and expertly led the restaurant team who fed us royally, and Amos, our tour guide, who led us on 2 game drives a day and made it his mission to show us the very best of the area's wildlife, whilst impressing us with his detailed knowledge and entertaining us with his stories and jokes. Plus all the Masai guards who kept watch for unwelcome visitors throughout the night. This will always rank in my top 10, no matter where else I go.

Room tip: I think all the rooms are the same - some will be closer to/further from the main lodge
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasecampKenya, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Alison,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Eagle View. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation for our service and amenities are highly valued as guest satisfaction is our prime objective. We will certainly recognize James, Amos and the rest of the staff for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews