We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury within the wilderness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We came in with a walking safari after 2 days in Dorobo tented camp. We loved the fantastic view from the tent, down to a water hole and salt lik, with lots of game. After our stay in the bush camp we also loved the luxury of this camp,with also great dinner.
At night a hippo was grazing directly beside our tent, a fantastic experience.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Carsten,

We thank you once again for your positive remarks about your stay, it is through such interactions that we have continued to improve our service delivery. Our camps ideal locations are meant to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our camps in the future.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

The location and facilities at this camp are absolutely stunning. When we first arrived seeing the view and our beautiful room really took our breath away. Additionally the Naboisho Conservancy is really beautiful and you can see so many animals from your balcony. Unfortunately the service was really quite dismal, so this coloured our whole experience,hence the 3 out of 5 rating. Despite the rating, I would say it is probably still worth a visit for the views and the rooms and perhaps we were just unlucky with the service.

Specific details of the poor service include:
- a full day meeting being booked at the little sitting area right near our bungalow (10m away) on the one full day we had to enjoy at the camp. Finally after lunch we asked reception to move them to the restaurant, we had to ask twice, but they were eventually moved, at which point two of the staff decided to pull up a chair there and have a loud 30 min conversation before I went and asked them to leave. We were in Tent 4, so worth clarifying if there are any functions planned in the nearby banda if you are given that room. It does have stunning views, so is a good one aside from that issue.
- On our last day there we were approached at 10am in the morning and asked to leave the room by 10:20am so they could clean for the next guests, even though no checkout time had been discussed previously.
- Given the difference in price we expected the food to be a step up from the already fabulous food at Basecamp Maasai Mara, but it was less good, with smaller portions and rather than substituting for dietary requirements they just removed the relevant parts of the meal making it even smaller. Service at meals was also variable.

Our guide was Manfred who was super knowledgeable and exceptionally good at 4WDing (which came in handy as we had a lot of rain at the start of our trip). He was just OK at spotting animals and wasn't always very communicative, but overall was good. He was also extremely patient at looking everywhere for leopards which we really wanted to see, although weren't lucky this trip.

Room Tip: Tent 4 had amazing views, but make sure there are no activities planned in the nearby banda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kateus_almora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Kateus,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Camp. We truly value the opinions of our guests. Eagle View Camp is our luxury camp that offers guests ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah.

Established over 5 years ago, pioneered by Basecamp Explorer in partnership with the local community and our Tour Partners in Naboisho, today, Mara Naboisho conservancy benefits over 500 local Maasai families with a sustainable monthly income. By staying with us you have already made a remarkable contribution to support this.

However, we apologize that we did not meet your service expectations. As Basecamp, we are genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction and we have addressed some of the issues that you raised with the team to ensure we improve on this. We will also look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our service delivery. It is through such interactions, that we have continued to improve our service delivery, enabling us to grow from strength to strength.

We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at Eagle View Camp for three nights. We stayed with our two teenage sons in a family tent.

The camp is located on a hill with amazing views of the valley. Lots of animal in the vicinity. We saw a male lion 500meters from our tent!

The accommodation is very eco friendly with well appointed tents. No phones or internet in the tents. You are left with a walkie talkie to contact the reception in case of emergency. Very rustic and authentic setting.

Steve was our guide for the three days and went out of his way to make it safe and fun for the family. Very knowledgeable and knows the Masai Mara like the back of his hand. Game drives were a lot of fun.

Food was good with the staff making every effort to make it enjoyable for our sons. Edward was very helpful.

Would recommend this place to everyone.

Syed Ali

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Syedifti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Syed,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share the review with us. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us at Eagle View. It’s our greatest aim to ensure complete guest satisfaction and memorable moments. Having such positive reviews motivates us to always make an effort to maintain high standards both in service and experience to make our guests always feel welcome in our Camp. We will certainly recognize Steve, Edward and the rest of the team for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you and all the best!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I stayed at Eagle View with my 22-year-old daughter. We were there for three days/nights at the end of July as part of our larger trip through Kenya and Tanzania. This camp was my all time favorite. To start, the view is exceptional. The camp is aptly named for its stunning vista that makes you feel as though you've stepped into a painting. It is truly remarkable to look out over the winding stream, and expansive savannah as hundreds of animals come to your "doorstep" to drink and graze. We even watch the wildebeest migration from this vantage point.

The staff was so friendly, helpful, and even nurturing during our stay. It felt like we were visiting with friends and it was emotional to leave these people after our time there. They were so genuine in getting to know us and interact with us as individuals.

The tents are breezy, clean, and modern in design. I believe there are nine tents and each boasts a stunning overlook of the savannah. The beds are quite firm but still comfortable. The tents have two showers - 1 indoor/1 outdoor. The outdoor shower is private on three sides...the open side overlooks the savannah, so you're outdoors, but it's still private. It's built onto the deck that crosses the front of the tent and wraps around the side. Anyhow, it's worth trying...I loved it! Also worth mentioning, there's hot water 24/7 and the water pressure is good.

The food was delicious, varied, and (lunch/dinner) consisted of a soup/bread course, entree, and dessert. Breakfast consisted of a fruit/bread course, entree of eggs, meat, potatoes or similar, and fresh juice. There was soooo much food provided...you will not go hungry here. Additionally, there is coffee and a really nice tea selection available at all times.

Our safari guide was Derrick, a senior guide with Basecamp. He is extremely knowledgeable and rooted out a different and equally impressive experience each day. The highlight, however, was the walking safari he convinced us to do on our last full day there. We were nervous about being on foot in the bush but the promise of a private walk accompanied by four Maasai (no added change) was enough to tip the scales. As it turned out we felt so safe and the walk enabled us to see detail and literally be in touch with the land. While I cannot pinpoint a specific reason, it was a life-changing experience that made me feel empowered and deepened my respect for the indigenous people and animals. At bare minimum, it's great exercise in a stunning location...take advantage of the opportunity and do it.

I'm sure I've left out a lot, but you can't go wrong with this camp. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some tents have a sunrise view, some had sunset view. You can't go wrong with whatever you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your safari destination. We were very happy to host you. We are also glad that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp. We highly value your appreciation about our accommodation, amenities, and services. We shall certainly recognize Derrick and the rest of the team for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you and all the best.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

First things first, the Eagle View camp itself was one of the most spectacular places I've ever been. The grounds (especially the view from the main lodge) were wonderful, and the cabins were perfect. On two separate afternoons, we sat on our porch while zebra grazed not 15 meters in front of us.

The ups:
- drivers were knowledgeable and courteous. Our long trip to the Mara with Steve was unbeatable. Samson was great, too.
- the food was good, especially considering how remote the location is.
- again, the cabins were immaculate. This was "glamping" in its purest form.

The downs:
- you will be nickle-and-dime'd to death. Every little thing is extra, including sodas on the game drive. It wasn't a lot of money, but it was annoying at the end to see those tiny little charges when 1) no one told us they were extra, and 2) we were already spending ~$400 per person per day. The crowning glory was when they sneakily attempted to charge us $10 extra for a bottle of wine because they ran out of the type of wine we requested and just substituted the more expensive one without telling us. A few dollars here and there is a pittance compared to what you're paying overall, but it's so annoying.

-you are beholden to your guide's schedule. As a couple, it should have been easy to throw us in with any group activity (walking safaris, drives, etc.). Instead, when we requested a walking safari, we were told our guide was busy with other guests. We went back to our cabin and immediately watched a 3 person group from camp walk right in front of our porch on a walking safari.

- you cannot trust any information given to you unless it comes from the manager himself. This is a problem when he is either indisposed, or when guides promise you something unprompted, only for you to find out later that they didn't have the authority to make such promises in the first place.

Let's be honest, none of "the downs" are enough to make you pick another place at 1.5x the price. But it's best to temper your expectations, be assertive, and confirm everything at least twice (more if you can't find the manager).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Kelsey,
We thank you for staying with us at Eagle View and we value your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp.

However, we are also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some of your experiences at the camp. We apologize for the lack of clarity about your paid extras this was a miscommunication which we have addressed and put in place a mechanism to ensure it does not recur. At Basecamp, we are genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction and we will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our service delivery. It is through such interactions, that we have continued to improve our service delivery, enabling us to grow from strength to strength.

We are always open to our guest feedback and views. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
28 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 090 reviews
10 km away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#9 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
339 reviews
26,2 km away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#17 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4,1 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
527 reviews
14,4 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1 072 reviews
36,1 km away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle View, Mara Naboisho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle View, Mara Naboisho

Address: Naibosho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya (Formerly Basecamp Eagle's View)
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: R6 741 - R11 159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle View, Mara Naboisho 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle View is set on a spectacular escarpment overlooking the Koiyaki River, in the Mara Naboisho Conservancy. Here guests experience exclusivity, privacy and abundant wildlife, while enjoying one of the best safari experiences in the Savannah. Eagle View is Silver Eco rated camp and recognized as one of the Top 25 best Eco Lodges in the World by National Geographic Traveler 2013. Marvel at the abundance of wildlife in Mara Naboisho Conservancy as you enjoy day or night game drives with our Maasai guides. The camp overlooks a natural waterhole where the unexpected interaction between the predators and their prey provides constant entertainment to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Eagle View, Mara Naboisho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing