We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$670
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$750
US$690
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 160
US$1 020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1 090
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$792
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Enchoro Wildlife Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$95
US$90
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
US$2 500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
237
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasecamp explorerwalking safarioutdoor showergame driveswatering holesalt lickfemale guidemasai guidesfantastic daysvantage pointmain tentwater holefamily tentlions matingfantastic experienceoff roadplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I stayed at Eagle View with my 22-year-old daughter. We were there for three days/nights at the end of July as part of our larger trip through Kenya and Tanzania. This camp was my all time favorite. To start, the view is exceptional. The camp is aptly named for its stunning vista that makes you feel as though you've stepped into a painting. It is truly remarkable to look out over the winding stream, and expansive savannah as hundreds of animals come to your "doorstep" to drink and graze. We even watch the wildebeest migration from this vantage point.

The staff was so friendly, helpful, and even nurturing during our stay. It felt like we were visiting with friends and it was emotional to leave these people after our time there. They were so genuine in getting to know us and interact with us as individuals.

The tents are breezy, clean, and modern in design. I believe there are nine tents and each boasts a stunning overlook of the savannah. The beds are quite firm but still comfortable. The tents have two showers - 1 indoor/1 outdoor. The outdoor shower is private on three sides...the open side overlooks the savannah, so you're outdoors, but it's still private. It's built onto the deck that crosses the front of the tent and wraps around the side. Anyhow, it's worth trying...I loved it! Also worth mentioning, there's hot water 24/7 and the water pressure is good.

The food was delicious, varied, and (lunch/dinner) consisted of a soup/bread course, entree, and dessert. Breakfast consisted of a fruit/bread course, entree of eggs, meat, potatoes or similar, and fresh juice. There was soooo much food provided...you will not go hungry here. Additionally, there is coffee and a really nice tea selection available at all times.

Our safari guide was Derrick, a senior guide with Basecamp. He is extremely knowledgeable and rooted out a different and equally impressive experience each day. The highlight, however, was the walking safari he convinced us to do on our last full day there. We were nervous about being on foot in the bush but the promise of a private walk accompanied by four Maasai (no added change) was enough to tip the scales. As it turned out we felt so safe and the walk enabled us to see detail and literally be in touch with the land. While I cannot pinpoint a specific reason, it was a life-changing experience that made me feel empowered and deepened my respect for the indigenous people and animals. At bare minimum, it's great exercise in a stunning location...take advantage of the opportunity and do it.

I'm sure I've left out a lot, but you can't go wrong with this camp. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some tents have a sunrise view, some had sunset view. You can't go wrong with whatever you have.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your safari destination. We were very happy to host you. We are also glad that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp. We highly value your appreciation about our accommodation, amenities, and services. We shall certainly recognize Derrick and the rest of the team for their great effort to make your safari more memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you and all the best.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

First things first, the Eagle View camp itself was one of the most spectacular places I've ever been. The grounds (especially the view from the main lodge) were wonderful, and the cabins were perfect. On two separate afternoons, we sat on our porch while zebra grazed not 15 meters in front of us.

The ups:
- drivers were knowledgeable and courteous. Our long trip to the Mara with Steve was unbeatable. Samson was great, too.
- the food was good, especially considering how remote the location is.
- again, the cabins were immaculate. This was "glamping" in its purest form.

The downs:
- you will be nickle-and-dime'd to death. Every little thing is extra, including sodas on the game drive. It wasn't a lot of money, but it was annoying at the end to see those tiny little charges when 1) no one told us they were extra, and 2) we were already spending ~$400 per person per day. The crowning glory was when they sneakily attempted to charge us $10 extra for a bottle of wine because they ran out of the type of wine we requested and just substituted the more expensive one without telling us. A few dollars here and there is a pittance compared to what you're paying overall, but it's so annoying.

-you are beholden to your guide's schedule. As a couple, it should have been easy to throw us in with any group activity (walking safaris, drives, etc.). Instead, when we requested a walking safari, we were told our guide was busy with other guests. We went back to our cabin and immediately watched a 3 person group from camp walk right in front of our porch on a walking safari.

- you cannot trust any information given to you unless it comes from the manager himself. This is a problem when he is either indisposed, or when guides promise you something unprompted, only for you to find out later that they didn't have the authority to make such promises in the first place.

Let's be honest, none of "the downs" are enough to make you pick another place at 1.5x the price. But it's best to temper your expectations, be assertive, and confirm everything at least twice (more if you can't find the manager).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Kelsey,
We thank you for staying with us at Eagle View and we value your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp.

However, we are also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some of your experiences at the camp. We apologize for the lack of clarity about your paid extras this was a miscommunication which we have addressed and put in place a mechanism to ensure it does not recur. At Basecamp, we are genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction and we will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our service delivery. It is through such interactions, that we have continued to improve our service delivery, enabling us to grow from strength to strength.

We are always open to our guest feedback and views. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The site is fantastic. We have a view over the Savannah With a waterhole and lots of animals. Inthe night we heard the hippoes and elephants breaking Down trees. We even heard the rumbling in the stomacs of the elephants.
The rooms are spacious and Nice. Each room has a balcony with a nice view.
The food is very good.
All the employies are friendly and determined to make our stay pleasant.
Our guide was fantastic. He knew were to find the animals and knew everything about the animals behavior

Room Tip: Al the rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olafugland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp. The team especially will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! We look forward to your next visit.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I just got back last week after spending four amazing days at Eagle view with friends and already wish to go back. Basecamp has managed to create an amazing experience in the middle of the jungle with helpful staff, great food and superb guides cum drivers. Staff was always eager to help and we were especially surprised with very good quality of food. A special thanks to Manfred, our guide who is very knowledgeable about wildlife (even managed to spot the ever elusive leopard) and has some excellent driving skills. It was our first time staying in a conservancy and the experience was definitely worth the extra bucks. I will highly recommend it to everyone!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Saurabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Saurabh,

Thank you for having chosen Basecamp Eagle View as your safari destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wild animals such as elephants, giraffes, and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife within the comforts of the camp. The team especially Manfred will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! We look forward to your next visit.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

about how much I loved staying here. Very comfortable and clean accommodations, ample delicious food, very knowledgeable guides and game viewing second to none.

The best thing about staying at Eagle View is the people. From the Askari, to the table servers, to camp managers and guides...ALL wonderful, wonderful people and it is because of them that I will comeback again and again.

My only regret is my wife could not join me and share in my experience, but there will be a next time :)

Thank you for making my stay an awesome one.

Paul

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cpaulfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Paul,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations, as well as the service from our team! We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of service is administered to our guests. Rest assured, that we will also share your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure we maintain the best services for guests. We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back with your family sometime, soon!

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews