We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$633
US$403
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leopard Hill(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$785
US$590
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$333
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Azure Mara Haven(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$291
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$206
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
231
12
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
12
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasecamp explorerwalking safarioutdoor showergame driveswatering holesalt lickfemale guidemasai guidesguiding schoolvantage pointhuge bedmain tentwater holefamily tentfantastic experienceoff roadknowledgeable guides
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We spent 4 nights here at Eagle view in their Luxurious tents which had amazing facilities like outdoor and indoor showers, concierge service and double vanity bathrooms. Since the camp is on a hill top, the view is just stunning. There is a small watering hole at the base of the hill which meant that there are always animals around the camp. The staff are very nice and helpful and the food was customized to our liking (with every meal being a 3 course one). We had a great experience on the daily safari's as the guides were very experienced and wanted to ensure we get the best out of our trip. The only thing that left a sour taste for us was when a guide was forced to take us on a half day safari by the management on his day off and this reflected in his attitude throughout the safari. We really didn't have a very good ending to our trip because of that and I hope it is something they will look into.

Room Tip: Ask for tents that are close to the Reception, they also have better views. The one's farther away can lead to quite a walk.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nitish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Nitish,

On the behalf of the entire Basecamp staff, we would like to thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your destination. We were very happy to host you and more so appreciate your positive comments about our camp, staff and your experience. Eagle View Camp is our luxury camp that offers guests ultimate privacy and clear views into the vast Savannah we are glad you got to experience just that!

However, we are also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your ending experience at Eagle View. At Basecamp, we are genuinely concerned about customer satisfaction and we will look into the issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our service delivery.

We are always open to our guest feedback and views. It will be our great pleasure to host you in the near future and have another opportunity to ensure we deliver at the service levels that Basecamp is renowned for.

Basecamp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Last week my husband and I went on our first safari with Basecamp Explorers and had one of the most exciting trips of our lives. We both have traveled extensively, but this experience was unlike any other. The Naboisho Conservancy, where Eagle View and Wilderness Camps are located (where we stayed), is teaming with amazing animals - every day our wonderful guides Lorna and John took us out 2x a day, helped us to spot multiple of the Big 5 (every day!) and taught us about the amazing animals we'd never seen before. The Basecamp experience was nearly perfectly done - the look and feel of the camps is outdoorsy/natural but feels luxurious, the 3 course meals served by friendly staff were delicious, and the animal covered views from every tent and common area provided for hours of entertainment and relaxation. We love camping and the outdoors, so preferred Wilderness camp as it has a more rustic (though not at all roughing it) feel. Greatly enjoyed the picnics and walks through the Mara, the ability to drive off-road, and the night rides that are a unique part of visiting the Conservancy vs. the National Park. Couldn't recommend this trip with Basecamp more. Thanks to Lorna and John, and the wonderful staff who made our experience unforgettable!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank young_adventurer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share the camp reviews with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the rustic feel of Wilderness Camp. It gives us immense pleasure to know that our services met all your expectations. Your appreciation about our service and amenities is highly valued. We will certainly share your feedback with the entire staff as it will serve as an encouragement to us all as we strive to continuously ensure guests have a more memorable safari experience. It will be a great pleasure to host you again in the near future.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Can't fault this camp for the price, stayed here as part of an excellent tour organised by Transtrek Safaris. This camp is set in the private Naboisho conservation area of the Masai Mara at the top of a ridge, with really fantastic views.

The tents are modern and contemporary, with wooden frame and floors and modern coated canvas material on the walls. Big double bed, ensuite bathroom with an indoor shower and an outdoor safari shower and I can honestly say out of the many hotels I have been to this is the only one where I actually wanted to use the complimentary shower gel - it had been hand made! And of course the tent and balcony had great views across the plains!

The main lounge and dining area was split into three separate areas, simple but nice and comfortable with a bar and books to read and a fire place for the evening, all set on the edge of the ridge.

The food was good, particularly the soup! The service was also good, the guides were very knowledgeable and the vehicles were in good condition. Overall the staff were relaxed, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VitruvianDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Dan,

Thank you for having chosen Eagle View as your destination. We were very happy to host you as our guest and more so appreciate your positive comments about our accommodation and services. We are happy that you noted the significance of our location. Eagle View overlooks a natural waterhole, which is frequented throughout the day by wildlife such as elephants, giraffes and antelopes making it a great place to watch the wildlife from within the comforts of the camp. The team especially, will surely be pleased with your warm commendations! We look forward to your next visit.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Working in Nairobi and booked at the last moment for Easter. Got a great deal for 3 day/2 night stay. Some observations: beautiful landscape; staff very friendly; the "tents" aren't tents more like rooms with canvas - all amenities, great views, fantastic; Im vegetarian and food was really good; good guides - Mark and Amos - good guys; plenty of animals, you won't be disappointed. It was very quiet, I had a car and guides to myself. A really enjoyable short stay. Get to Kenya and support their tourism industry.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear David,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Eagle View. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation about our service and amenities are highly valued as guest satisfaction is our prime objective. We will certainly recognize Mark and Amos for their great effort in making your safari more memorable. We hope that your future stay will be as satisfying as this one. Thank you and welcome back.

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Comfortable tents with all amenities. Excellent views from your own porch. Fantastic atmosphere and views from the reception area. Wild game can visit the tents during dark, so that all movements between tents, restaurant, reception must be accompanied by a guard. Very exciting:). The value proposition increases with all the initiatives that Basecamp support and fund.

Room Tip: Room 9 (and possibly 4) are furthest from the reception area and gives the "wildest" feel. 5-9 face sunrise, 1-4 face sunset.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaya70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basecamp K, Manager at Eagle View, Mara Naboisho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased to learn that you had a great time with us. We are glad to know that we managed to deliver more of what is expected by our guests! We look forward to another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you. We hope to welcome you back some time, soon!

Basecamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews