We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very friendly home”
other travellers have booked this property
Guest enjoy the hospitality of mama Alice
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest enjoy the hospitality of mama Alice
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Guest enjoy the hospitality of mama Alice
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
14 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Nairobi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janja V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very friendly home”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Alice's home was very nice and friendly. Alice was prepared to help us with everything. She cooked us very tasteful meals, she took us to her church and accompanied us to the town. We could count on her for everything we needed. Therefore, I really recommend her if someone intendeds to live an experience in Kenya.
We are sorry that our visit was too short so we could not visit the school where she teach. She can help you with organisation of safari or anything else you would like to do or visit in Kenya

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
very warm guest we had and outgoing.I made real friends and was happy that they travelled with a young child who was my friend because I totall love children.I got a surprise of a tip from such a wonderful guests .Look forward to see them one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnyLu2013
Thun, Switzerland
2 reviews
“"my second home"”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

2013 I visited Kenya for the Volunteerwork at Alices School. 3 Month by her Family were so wonderful that I visit them every year again. They show me around in Nairobi, learned to cook me Kenyan food and teach me more about the life there. Also to be with the children at Alices school Safisha Africa is funtastic! the house of Alice it's the most colorful house I have ever seen and a meeting point for travelers, volunteer and locals. I had a great experience in this family and house. So now it's my second home. They get a really big place in my heart. I'm sure if you go there you will love them.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
It was a volunteer experience from my guest which turned a frequent visit to Nairobi,Kenya calling our homestay a real home.She is a wonderful person that I desire hosting every year.I trust her as she has confidence in our property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamurabi...
1 review
“A place to call home ”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Staying at Alice's home was one of my greatest times. She is a person with a good and calm soul, who is always smiling and thinking positively. I could count on her for everything I needed. Therefore, I really recommend her if someone intendeds to live an experience in Kenya.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
My guest is warm and very positive with skills and motivational talks.I loved to host him and again and again look forward to meet him when he travels .Thanks for having chosen us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
819Bella1...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay and the greatest hospitality!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I stayed with Alice or (Mama Alice) and her family for almost seven weeks. It was such a great experience! I was travelling by myself but they welcomed me into their home and made me feel like my family. I was volunteering at Safisha, the school that Alice founded for underprivileged children in that area. If you stay here, you should also definitely visit the school and see the amazing work that is being done. The children are so precious and I will always hold them in my heart! The homestay was in a safe area, very clean, and well-maintained. It is also easily accessible by bus, taxi, etc. You will not regret staying here, you will have amazing memories for a lifetime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and cleanliness
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
My guest was great and she made me proud by her kindness,love and skills at the school project for the vulnerable.
She is welcome again any moment to visit our Country Kenya and be hosted in our property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey C
Molitg-les-Bains, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“The best place in Nairobi !”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were in Alice's place in January and we really enjoy it ! Alice and her family were so friendly , that we can just recommend her home. It's clean, safe and you'll feel like home. Just go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
the two guests were amazing and it was a good experience to host them and share the family culture of friendship,they were warm and entertaining.we enjoyed the company laughed greatly for the jokes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing