We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$228
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$188
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$186
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
504
348
59
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
348
59
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleading hotels of the worldroom servicevery nice hotellong flightafrican artbreakfast buffetan oasisbusy cityrooms are comfortablecentral locationgift shopsafari tripbusiness hotelmasai maramaghrebsecuritygym
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The location is central and the rooms are very comfortable and well laid out. Staff are very friendly. The breakfast and Indian food is excellent. However, we were very disappointed with the food at the fine dining restaurant (Mandhari). Not only was in not fine dining, it actually tasted awful and was completely over priced for what it was.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

I stayed here on a business trip for 2 nights in early March 2018. This is a luxurious hotel with very well equipped rooms and several restaurants.

However, the rooms, wash rooms and the hotel common areas are a bit old / dated and requires immediate upgrade and renovation. Currently, the renovation is in progress and I hope they also renovate and upgrade the room carpets, furniture and the wash rooms.

The service staff was good, ready to assist and always greeted nicely. The downside is the hotel is a bit away from center and in the night its extremely dark outside the hotel. Not sure whether it is safe in the night or not. Plus the hotel taxi is extremely expensive if you book it from the hotel reception and there are hardly any transport outside the hotel specially after the evening, and you are basically dependent on the hotel taxi services.With the UBER services in place I think the hotel really needs to cut down on the taxi charges.

The breakfast at the hotel was nice with a good spread and most of the items were fresh and the service at restaurant was good.

If you are ok with paying excessive transport charges or are comfortable using UBER this is a nice hotel to stay, specially once they have completed the renovation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Waqas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were here for two nights ,the hotel is a great property with undoubtedly great food , staff is very courteous would love to stay again in this beautiful place for sure no double minds about it. Located right in the centre of the city it is also very convenient to commute from one place to another.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rohita868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

If you are visiting Nairobi make sure you visit this amazing hotel. The staff are definitely some of the best we have encountered in our travels. Even if you don't stay at the Nairobi Serena, take advantage of their wonderful cuisine.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Calvingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My wife & I stayed at the Nairobi Serena for one night before heading off on a safari the next morning. We dined in the Maghreb Restaurant, but much to our dismay we found it extremely disappointing. The dinner menu was very limited, and especially so for my wife who can only eat gluten free food. We advised our waiter that we weren't that hungry and only wanted small portions. We also advised him that my wife can only consume gluten free food. After consulting with the chef, he advised us that the chicken base dish with vegetables (soup like), was not a very large portion, and just right for my wife as it was gluten free. After receiving it, my wife found the chicken tough and over cooked, and removed it from the other ingredients as it couldn't be eaten. She basically left the whole dish unconsumed. My particular dish, a vegetable lasagna, was a very large portion. Apart from the vegetables not being cooked, I was able to consume only half of it. The waiter did drop by shortly after we received our meals to see how things were.He noticed the chicken, but said nothing nor asked any questions. When we told him about the situation, he just walked away & ignored us for the reminder of our stay at the table. We felt concerned and vulnerable, and not all that secure at the restaurant. We just paid our bill & left, not being sure what would happen if we complained.

Shortly after our stay, we received an email asking us to rate our experience at the Nairobi Serena. We filled out the questionnaire truthfully & accurately explaining what had occurred. A response was received from the GM, Daniel Kang'u apologizing for the lack of service & for his waiter for having "dropped the ball". Apart from the apology, there was nothing more said other then he will look into the situation.

I feel that for such a large hotel chain as the Serena Hotels, more should have done in terms of ensuring excellent customer service and satisfaction, and doing something about it

Guests be aware, especially the Maghreb restaurant at this particular hotel location.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews