We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 118)
Filter reviews
2 118 results
Traveller rating
1 293
557
153
58
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 293
557
153
58
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian restaurant old palace garden wing historic hotel hunting lodge moghul room pyramid view great pyramid grounds are beautiful main building new wing khan el khalili an oasis amazing location felt very safe public areas giza plateau
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 2 118 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful hotel, with views of the pyramids. Rooms and amenities are very nice, the lobby bar is wonderful, the restaurant wonderful, the breakfast buffet excellent, a lot of old-world charm and ambiance!
The deal-breaker is the wedding noise; otherwise an easy 5 stars.
Lately they seem to have weddings every Friday and Saturday night, big wedings, 100+ people, with music until late into the night. Maybe this will change, but if you plan a stay, better call and check on this, because otherwise you'll need to pack earplugs if you want to sleep.

Room tip: Check if a wedding is scheduled on the grounds.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Grandpa328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mena H, Director of Marketing Communications at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for choosing our hotel.

I appreciate your positive comments on our location, food and hospitality, which you have graciously shared. We do take pride in catering to our guest’s need the best way we can.

Meanwhile, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with Weddings.

Thank you once again for your gracious comments and we all await your return back soon.


Best regards,

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. We arrived very late at night and check in was easy and they brought us to our room in a golf cart. The hotel is large and set in a “u” shape around a garden area. We had a pyramid view room and were disappointed at first that we could not see them but we later found out that they are not lit up at night, except from 7:30 to 9:30 PM exactly due to the light show. The show is presented on the other side of the pyramids so you cannot see it from the hotel. In the morning, we could see that the view room is worth it, but ask for a room closer to the restaurant side. Those rooms had views of 2 pyramids, ours had one.

The room was large and comfortable with a nice balcony and sitting area with couch and coffee table and desk/table. Beds are comfortable. The bathroom was fine, with a tub/shower combo and a single sink.

The hotel location is excellent for seeing the pyramids in Giza and for driving to Saqqara and Dashur but I don’t think I’d stay here for sightseeing in Cairo. Traffic is bad and it makes more sense to stay in the center.

The main restaurant is quite expensive. We walked out of the hotel and onto the main street that borders it and ate dinner at Felfela on our one night there. Do take care crossing the street (tip; find a local who is crossing and cross with them).

Breakfast was not included in the room and the first day we went to the restaurant. There is a nice, large buffet but it was more than we wanted. They seemed perplexed at the concept of breakfast a la carte and charged us for 2 American breakfasts based on what we took from the buffet (not much). The next morning we ordered room service, an American breakfast for 1 person, and it was more than enough for 2 people to share.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wired2theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mena H, Director of Marketing Communications at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for choosing our hotel.

I appreciate your positive comments on our location, food and hospitality, which you have graciously shared. We do take pride in catering to our guest’s need the best way we can.

Thank you once again for your gracious comments and we all await your return back soon.


Best regards,

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following a ghastly trip through Cairo's traffic, the warm welcome and upgraded room was greatly appreciated. This service was marked throughout our stay in this very clean, vast hotel complex. A room with a pyramid view is decidedly worthwhile. To sit outside on the balcony in full view of one of the wonders of the world is nothing short of stunning.

One of the snags: the food is decidedly western. I could not even find Arabic bread at the breakfast buffet! What a shame not to use this as a showcase for Egypt's splendid food. Quite honestly, the food was bland and though flawless, consisted of the usual western fare.

Room tip: Pyramids view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mena H, Director of Marketing Communications at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words on the Trip Advisor forum.

We are happy that you had a good time at the hotel and enjoyed your stay. Your appreciation will encourage us to do even better.

Thank you for being our brand ambassador. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful lodging area near the Great Pyramids of Giza. Easy visit to pyramids and surrounding wonders. This is part of The Marriott chain of hotels so you know will be a great lodging experience. Rated a four vs five due to somewhat noisy on the backside of the property. Food was excellent.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jeffriesj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mena H, Director of Marketing Communicaitons at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for Choosing Marriott Mena House, Cairo for your stay, and for taking the time to share your review. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate your kind comments on our facilities and staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Tarek Lotfy


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stay here because it’s proximity to Pyramids, and this was the location for Cairo Conference post WWII, but the original reception parkour was closed for renovation, therefore unable to view the photos and visit room of Churchill. Room was spacious, our room overlooking the pyramids, quite nice for Cairo visit, plenty of choices for breakfast, excellent Indian Cusine, the hotel was taken over from the Obroi group by the Merritt, people complained about the dwindling service, my disappointment was the renovation and closedown of the palace. Food ok, but coffee so bad, instead, we opted for fresh mint tea..

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavoyageuse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mena H, Director of Marketing Communications at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Marriott Mena House, Cairo and taking the time to share your review. We truly appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled to hear you experienced such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews