We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectably dreamy”

Hevea Italian Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 125 Restaurants in Kinshasa
Price range: US$12 - US$100
Description: Prenez place dans ce merveilleux restaurant autour de la piscine. Testez nos spécialités dans l’unique restaurant extérieur et couvert de la ville. Ouvert pour déjeuners et dîners, le Hevea Italian restaurant est parfait pour toutes les occasions. Cuisine innovante Italienne. Dans un environnement convivial et relaxant, Hevea Italian restaurant est le lieu parfait pour savourer un K-cocktail.
Restaurant details
Description: Prenez place dans ce merveilleux restaurant autour de la piscine. Testez nos spécialités dans l’unique restaurant extérieur et couvert de la ville. Ouvert pour déjeuners et dîners, le Hevea Italian restaurant est parfait pour toutes les occasions. Cuisine innovante Italienne. Dans un environnement convivial et relaxant, Hevea Italian restaurant est le lieu parfait pour savourer un K-cocktail.
Reviewed 6 September 2019

The pizzas and pastas are amazing here. The service is good and the wait staff are attentive to your needs. This is definitely one place I would not mind coming back to for a meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank luc_victor_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

So, this is a second review that I write about this restaurant. The first one was deleted because Hevea regularly removes itself from the trip advisor when the rating falls below a certain point. First, the positives: it is at Kempinsky, so if you are staying at the hotel, you will not have to go far. The setting is rather pleasant: just beware that the pool area can be noisy because of the kids. I do not mind, but if you want calm and quiet, you might be disappointed. After dark, it is calm. Also, Kempinsky sprays the grounds with some nuclear anti mosquitos pray, so there are no bugs.
Now the downsides: it is very pricey 32-52 the main dish, and the quality does not follow. Sole meunière was disgusting. French Fries are made in cheap oil that is used for to long, so they stink. Salad is ok. Pasta is also eatable. Half of the items on the menu is continuously missing. All wines are way too hot: reds are at outdoor temperature. So, if it is 95F outside, that will be the temperature of your red... rose and white are chilled, but not enough. Cocktails are ok (some) but they add to much sugar and go very light on liquor. Pizza is quite bad
Now the worst: the service. there are 5 guys who stand permanently in from my of you without bothering to come. They will never, like NEVER!, come unless you call them at least 3 times. It takes 15 min to bring the menus, another 20 to bring the beer, 45-50 for the food and 20 for the check.
I only keep going there because we are staying at Kempinsky and colleagues insist on eating in.
If you can escape, please do

Date of visit: May 2019
3  Thank DGREGIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

Very good Italian food, we were here for a week and had a wide variety of their meals. All we very good and at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank BoBahoravitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Everything belong to the service was great!! About the food not very happy..we had a starter and then some pasta with prowns but... not very delicious from my opinion..

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matteo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

As other reviewers have pointed out, the setting is beautiful. But we must have hit the establishment on a bad night. The Pollo alla Diavola was tasteless and oily: no sign of the spices which are normally part of the coating. The Pollo Scallopini had a tomato sauce with no seasoning. The steamed mediterranean vegetables lacked variety and were virtually raw. The only bright part was the frites. The service was unusually good for Kinshasa, but the whole experience was further spoilt by an incorrect bill which took ages to rectify - they said it was a system fault. At $90 for two, with wine, this is not cheap and we had hoped for something better.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richmart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Hevea Italian Restaurant also viewed

Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
 
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
 

Been to Hevea Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.