We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”

Review of Stone Villa's

Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Natural setting Stone Villa private front patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Natural setting
Stone Villa private front patio
Spacious Villa
Intimate bedroom in the evening
Stone Villas Separate Bedroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dining with Nature
Private Patio
Alofi Bay end of Stone Villas street
Hio Beach (Tuapa Village)
Limu Pools ( Namukulu Village)
Typical Coastal view on Niue
Where is Niue?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alofi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Justine C
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stone Villas is a great place to stay on Niue. It is very central - only a 3 minute walk down the hill to the centre of town and snorkelling. Ida and Albert are lovely and very hospitable.
If the Villas had air conditioning they would be perfect! We had the back villa and it was very secluded - could still hear the cars but not too loudly. As others have said the wifi is very slow and a bit inconsistent but that is the same across the island.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: The tv wasn't that great - was very dark. I think something had happened to it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thanks Justine for the lovely comments. Thank you for staying at Stone Villas. The villas were designed by Albert and myself for as much natural free flow airflow and breeze as possible but with climate change we have noticed a change in temperature over the years and we are looking into mobile air conditioning for the very hot months ONLY so as to try and minimize our human footsteps on mother earth. Have a lovely day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irenebB81...
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Spot”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I liked the look of these villas from the website and they did not disappoint. The unit was lovely and spacious and secluded yet very convenient within walking distance from the little township of Alofi. Unfortunately we stayed the week that Cyclone Winston was in the region and the island was basically shut down for a couple of days with lots of wind and rain but we still managed to get out every day. The walls are so thick and the roof so solid that not a single creak was heard in the strong winds.

Ida and Albert most graciously provided a delicious dinner on the day that our restaurant booking was cancelled due to the cyclone shutdown and they were excellent hosts being available if needed but respected your privacy.

The car provided with unit was perfect for the week and you definitely need a vehicle in Niue as no public transport available and few organised activities in the off-peak season. This unit is very clean and comfortable and quiet and it is obvious why it is so popular!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bed, washing machine and dryer
Liked least: Bollywood TV! and wifi only usable outside on the deck
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaiKart
Stewart Island, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent choice for accommodation in Niue”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our small family of 3 has just spent 10 happy days in Niue staying at the Stone Villa. Fantastic hosts, house and island. Thank you Ida and Albert for our stay in your holiday house and for inviting us to the South Alofi Marine Day and sharing your food and hospitality with visitors.

The island is a coral atoll in the Pacific and feels very apart from the rest of the world - a strange and wonderful place. The sea tracks, sharp rocky paths and ladders can be pretty rough and I think kids who are good walkers and reasonably fit adults would like it the most. The seawater and snorkelling is beautiful but also has its dodgy moments with tidal surges, rogue waves and rips in the channels so everyone needs to be a competent swimmer. Having said that there are lovely safe (deep) rockpools like Avaiki Cave which are cut off from the sea at low tide. The climate in winter is great - about 25 in the day and comfortably cooler at night.

Every cove, cave, canyon, sea track and beach felt different and every day held new delights. It's a great place for a holiday and still feels mildly adventurous. Our cool quiet villa was lovely to come home to every afternoon and was perfect.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisJed2...
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly and convenient. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in June. Hosts were very friendly, and the accommodation is nice and close to town. Talking to other visitors, having a washing machine and dryer is a real bonus. The other bonus is NO roosters! Other visitors were complaining about being woken up at 3am by roosters, but Ada and Albert's kids apparently catch chickens around their place and relocate them up the road ... So no roosters sifting about. Very clean and comfortable, would definately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet
Liked least: It's a bit dim inside the kitchen, a light above kitchen bench would be good for middle age failing eyesight. Or we should not get up in the dark.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathm5180
Ross, New Zealand
1 review
“Stone Villa's The place to stay in Niue”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the moment Albert picked us up from the airport and took us to Stone Villas were we met Ida and their family we knew this was the place to stay. We stayed in the front villa which was cleaned daily except for Sundays had a good range of cutlery etc a big fridge a washing machine and dryer in fact everything you needed. Albert and Ida would leave bannanas, papaya, water melons and coconut for us nearly everyday. The villa was very clean. We loved being enclosed by the bush as it made the villa nice and cool. We also loved the gekos which some how seemed to creep their way in. Having a vehicle come with the unit was a real bonus as we explored the island in it just have to fill with petrol when you leave. Stone Villas was close enough to the main centre to be able to walk to the shops and restaurants and also to the snorkelling/swimming places in the village. The thing we liked best was it was very peaceful and homely even though it was bigger than were we come from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: he thing we liked best was it was vVery peaceful and homely even though it was bigger than were we come from.
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing