We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
345
243
73
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
243
73
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botero museum gold museum presidential palace mirador restaurant teatro colon historic hotel government buildings central courtyard colonial style candelaria district lovely hotel police presence small balcony perfect location top floor simon bolivar within easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

I believe we stayed in one of the newer rooms of the hotel and we had a perfect panoramic view of Bogota and the surrounding mountains. It was truly one of the best hotel views we've very had. The room was large and the bed comfortable and the area was very quiet even with our windows open.

The area surrounding the hotel has some government buildings so there is always a lot of security around and even walking around after dark we never felt unsafe. Multiple tourist spots (Plaza Bolivar, Museo de Oro) were a short walking distance away. The included breakfast also good.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Glad to know you had had a lovely trip around Colombia and that you had enjoyed all the amazing places that you visited.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed breakfast, the view of the city from your comfortable room, the excellent location and security in our hotel. Thanks for sharing your experience. We wait for you again.
Magda Santana
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel Opera made my day again exactly one month after visiting. Our stay was perfect, we enjoyed our room, the restaurant, the day spa with massage, pool and steam room and when we requested a room change it was organised immediately. The staff were accommodating, friendly and helpful. When leaving I left a new pair of shoes in the taxi! The staff at Hotel Opera were instrumental in arranging getting the shoes back to me. They were patient, understanding and very respectful of the situation. Now that is above and beyond customer service! Mucha gracias!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank anauribea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks for your time to leave your comments. For us it is very important to know that we met your expectations. We hope you come back soon to surprise you again. Kind Regards

Magda Santana
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

This hotel is well located in Candelaria and you can walk everywhere in this area from the hotel. Our room was a junior suite, so an upgrade, and was lovely. Quite large with a large bathroom. You could tell there had been a street noise issue in the past, but they had installed an extra set of windows, and the room was very quiet. Everything was very clean. I saw the regular room, and it was nice also, but not as large. I don't know why we were upgraded, so don't know the cost.

The breakfast, which is included, was in a lovely atrium, with fruit, breads, and an omelet station. It wasn't over the top, but was quite good.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check how much it is for an upgrade to a junior suite. It may be worth it for the extra room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeresaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks for your comments, our effort every day is to achieve and exceed your expectations. We hope your visit again.

Magda Santana
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I was with my children in this fabulous place at Bogota center
it is a fantastic and romantic place, everything is nice and luxurious until a great breakfast
ancient house with a lot of charism
nice personal
great prestation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank PaulDouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The hotel has the best location for seeing the tourist areas and getting good local food. We felt very safe in the area. The room was nice and had good views of the city. The breakfast was delicious.

We were nervous about staying in La Candelaria, but it was convenient for seeing the sights and getting to the bike tour. There were police on every corner. We took a cab to the newer parts of town, which were easy to get to.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PinaC_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews