We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times touring the resort city and finishing in rural winery area!”

Excellence Turismo Day Tours
Ranked #6 of 20 Tours in Punta del Este
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excellence Turismo offers you the best attractions in Punte Del Este and all Uruguay with a personal attention: Regular or private City Tour, Wine Tour with tastings, Visit of Typical Estancias, Adventure tour, Hunting, Horseback riding and much More. Please visit our website for further information. We can advise you to have an unforgettable stay in this beautiful country. We speak English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian and other languages.
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Our tour guide got us to all of the main views including the famous hand sculpture. WE had interesting architecture and history along the way. We finished at a lovely winery outdoors that had just incurred devastating damage to its vines from a tornado. The terrain is very rocky and its amazing that the vines grow in such an area. The wine was unremarkable but the setting was magnificent. They also served some excellent food with the wines that we tasted and this satisfied our group's need for lunch. This was an all day tour and I had not built in time for lunch. The port is tendered so remember that when organizing your group's time. Excellence must have underestimated our tendering time a bit so they had to wait for us but we did not feel short changed at all on our tour. Again, like Montevideo's tour with them, they seem a bit pricey but with a group- its much more affordable. I posted to cruise critic and we ended up with great groups! I requested a small boutique winery and excellence delivered. I hope they recover from the ravages of the storm.

1  Thank dive4pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2016

Lucia showed up in a nice Mercedes van and took us to all the interesting places and we had a nice day with her. Her English was excellent but she wasn't overly knowledgable about the area. We especially liked the free art museum. If it wasn't so hard to get here, this is an area that would be fun to spend more time exploring. We didn't get to the high end Jose Ignacio but that would have been a nice addition.

Thank Gbrawley22010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcellenceTursimo, Customer Service at Excellence Turismo Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

We really apreciate your comments in order to increase the quality of our services for our guests and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the tour in Punta del Este.
To include José ignacio, a four hours tour is too short but we also offer an extenxion of two hours to visit the high level summer resort.
Thanks again for your confidance from all the team Excellence Turismo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We booked an excursion to Bodega Garzon (formerly Experience Garzon?) through Excellence Tourismo, and I was extremely satisfied and impressed. Excellent customer service from my first email inquiry to the ease of booking and payment online to the wonderful driver and transit to and from Garzon. When I inquired with the company about transportation, they offered to pick us up and drop us off at the port of our cruise ship. The driver Jorge and his son Geronomo (sp?) who served as the translator as well were incredibly friendly, very willing to share about the country and the different points as we drove the 90 minutes to Garzon. They were equally inquisitive about us which made the experience more interesting. After the visit in Garzon, they drove us back via a different route even more scenic pointing out other highlights. They offered to stop at various points for shopping and breaks, and accommodated all of our requests. So incredibly nice and reflective of the excellent service! Thank you.

Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcellenceTursimo, Customer service at Excellence Turismo Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Hello Jeff,

We can´t thank you enough for your really nice review. We make sure that Jorge and Geronimo get your comment. Our team is doing a big work on finding knowledgable and friendly guides for our guests in order to leave our country with the best souvenir.

Kind regards from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Well organised tour, schedule appropriate, guide knowledgeable and accommodating to our requests and needs. Driver very pleasant. The whole process from booking to the end was straight forward and easy. Would recommend. Much better than doing a ships tour with a hoard of people.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank tracyfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcellenceTursimo, Customer Services at Excellence Turismo Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Hello Tracy,

Thank you very much for your words. It was a pleasure to show you around in Punta del Este. We try to make it the most easy to our guest from the booking process to the end of the tour.

Kind regards from all the team Excellence Turismo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Wow, we love Punta Del Este. When you visit please make sure to book your tour via Excellence Turismo. Marianne was really great in making sure our tour was well organized. We've visited on a cruise ship and i've made arrangements for 16 persons in total. The guide was really good, her English was very good and we've had fun half day tour. We all agreed the tour bus was the most luxurious we've ever seen. They pick you up straight from the pier. Make sure you book an indepent tour with them when you're on a cruise ship. They do almost exact the same tour as you can book on the ship ( you see your fellow guests at all the stops ) but for just a fraction of the price they charge you on board the ship.

Thank marco_jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcellenceTursimo, Guest Relations Manager at Excellence Turismo Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Hello Jessica and Marco, Thanks a lot for your comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the tour in Punta del Este. We always make sure than the guide is a professional English speaking guide and the vehicle is well adapted to the group and also comfortable. Don´t hesitate to contact us again if you want to discover more of Uruguay. Kind regards from al the team Excellence Turismo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Excellence Turismo Day Tours also viewed

Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
Punta del Este, Maldonado Department
 

Been to Excellence Turismo Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing