We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly located spacious apartment in central...”
other travellers have booked this property
by4u
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
by4u
p1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
by4u
p1
master bedroom view 3
p10
p11
view from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DickDylan
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly located spacious apartment in central Jerusalem, good value”
Reviewed 23 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010
3
people found this review helpful

We had four days in Jerusalem and wanted to be centrally located as we had a lot of things to see and do. The 'Ben Yehuda For You' (BY4U) apartment was perfect. Conveniently located in Ben Hillel Street, it was only about 15 feet away from Ben Yehuda Mall.

The building itself was pretty run down, the lift was very small (the apartment is on the fourth floor) and there is no concierge or even a foyer, BUT, the apartment itself was clean and spacious - not luxurious by any means - but very functional. It had a central living, dining area with a small galley kitchen off to one side. The master-bedroom had a large kingsize bed (that had ample storage under it) and it had a small balcony opening off it that looked out over the street. The second bedroom had two comfortable single bunk beds (there was also another pullout sofa bed in the lounge area if needed). The bathroom was a bit weird - sort of a seventies bachelor pad throwback thing going - with fully mirrored walls all the way round, a too large spabath with shower, handbasin and toilet, but it all worked and it was clean. There was a second separate toilet as well.

We were met at the apartment by Gad, the owner, who was very friendly (we had phoned him when we arrived at the airport to tell him when we would be there - and he gave us good advice on where to tell the Taxi driver to drop us off - corner Ben Hillel and Shamay Streets, only a short walk from there to the apartment). Gad showed us around the apartment and gave us our keys, he also let me know where to park the hire car I was picking up the following day - cheap carpark in Shamay St only about 50ft from the apartment.

Being centrally located meant that there were restaurants and shops right outside and it was a less than ten minute walk to Mamilla Mall or the Old City - about the same time to go to the markets. All in all, good value for money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Reviewed 17 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bevjerry
California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“When in Jerusalem this is THE place to stay!”
Reviewed 3 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011

If you're looking for luxury, this isn't it. If you're looking for a fine place to stay for a reasonable price this is it. The apartment is exactly as shown on their web site and the location couldn't be better. Walking distance to everything, super market two blocks away, lots of fine restaurants within 10 minute walk and it's virtually on Ben Yehuda Street. The apartment is very clean and the bed is comfortable. It's very quiet except for a little noise from Ben Yehuda Street at night but it didn't keep us up. This place had everything we wanted.

Gad's wife was there to meet us when we arrived and she showed us everything. Gad came by later to be sure everything was OK. They are both very nice and extremely helpful.

There were a few surprises but none of them amounted to much:

There's a clothes washer but no drier - we hung up our clothes to dry in the second bedroom.

There is Wi-Fi access but it's through a device Gad will give you that you plug into your computer. Since we were using an iTouch, we had no Wi-Fi in the apartment but it's available all along Ben Yehuda Street for free. Sometimes you can get it on the patio but it's intermittent.

The large soaking tub is great but, if you fill it, it uses all the hot water and you'll have to wait a while to shower.

The apartment is on the fourth floor and there is a lift but, If you have a problem with steps, you should know that there are 13 steps up to the lift.

You can now make your deposit by credit card through PayPal. Pay the balance in cash when you arrive. Also, there's a $500 damage deposit which you can pay by check when you arrive. Gad will return your check when you return the key. Apparently, they had some problems and the security deposit has stopped them.

If we return to Jerusalem this is definitely where we'll stay. We wouldn't even consider anywhere else. But, this place is quite popular (for good reason) so book early.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2011
Thank you for your kind review.

I am happy to let you know that following on your advice with the Iphone connection, I set up a high speed wifi connection.

Thanks

Gad
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba
Reviewed 12 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing