We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kebab”
Review of Kebapci Kardesler

Kebapci Kardesler
Ranked #900 of 15 515 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I found this little restaurant in the Sultanahmet area in a narrow alley full of kebab houses. The owner is a former physics teacher. we had various types of kebabs and they were all excellent. Don't expect a major ambience but if food quality is your interest this is the place to go at extremely reasonable prices and the owner goes out of his way to please you. I ate here two nights in a row. You wont go wrong if you can find this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank omid58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

Busy part of Sirkeci , the kebab is above average but nothing outstanding, a busy tourist area, a place where u can have a quick bite and go, price is acceptable

Date of visit: May 2015
2  Thank Vignesh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We found that place by chance walking around and in turned out to be our favourite place of all. I mean, we went back for dinner the next day, and again the following afternoon just for a great çorba (soup) and a tea.

We first enjoyed a plate of delicious mixed mezze (a mere 8 TL), followed by lamb kebap (10 TL) and eggplant kebap (13 TL, compared to at least 25 TL in other places). It was so good that both of us ordered the eggplant kebap the next day! It comes with flatbread, pilav bulghur, grilled tomatoes and onions, and the usual hot pepper.

The staff is efficient, friendly and make you feel like family. They speak just enough English, and you will be amazed by how many languages they're able to speak to get customers! You'll enjoy all this sitting at one of the few tables on the cobbled street.

And if you loved it enough to go back again you will be treated like king and might get a few treats on the house, such as fresh cherries taken from the cherry vendor on the street... just for you!

Bottom line, if you're not into fancy, overpriced, cheesy-decorated restaurants, you definitely don't want to miss this one!

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarieSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kebapci Kardesler also viewed

 

Been to Kebapci Kardesler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing