We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Relax in Colombo

Privacy and space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Privacy and space
Bedroom profile Lounge and living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Privacy and space
Bedroom profile
Lounge and living area
Bathrooms with European fittings
Dining room
Eight seater dining
Beautifully furnished
Fully equipped kitchen/ pantry
Casual dining in kitchen
Oven and cooktop
Space and privacy
Galle Beach
Wild elephants at Yala
Old taxis still plying their trade in Jaffna town
Fishing southern style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Colombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Takeit E
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very peaceful and clean place to stay and the caretaker was very friendly and helpful.
Very easy to deal with owner, as we had some last minute changes.Secure place.We are planning to book again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back!

Regards,
Priyan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premila K
Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 nights and very satisfied with this accomodation. PrIvite, Lots of room , the children really enjoyed being able to spread out and not being confined to a hotel room. Caretaker was very helpful and committed to keeping the premises safe secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Dear Premila,
Thanks for your great review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It's a safe and very private property and great for kids. The caretaker goes out of his way to take great care of the property and of all guests, so he will be very happy to receive your feedback.

Regards,
Priyan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess20197...
Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calm”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very nice place, quiet and calm. The housekeeper Priyankara was efficient and very nice, polite and always there, stays next door.
rooms were spacious and big living room.
Had all the facilities.
Rooms have AC but landlord should definitely put one in the living room, the 2 existing fans only moved around the hot air.
For mosquitos lovers make sure to take your spray with you...

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and we're glad that you found it a calm and relaxing place to stay as well as having all the facilities. Your comment regarding mosquitoes is not entirely accurate, so I would like to provide some clarity. While mosquitoes are a fact of life everywhere in Sri Lanka and other tropical countries, we take great care to ensure that mosquitoes do not get insde our house. All windows are protected by a fine wire mesh. However, guests sometimes leave the front door open in the evenings for long periods, which brings a few mosquitoes inside the house. We have repellents and sprays at the property, but need guests' assistance to manage and control. My caretaker informed me that the front door was left open for many hours by your traveling party from early afternoon till late evening during your stay.

Regards,
Priyan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGI_Jay
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, safe and spacious self-catering central location in Colombo”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very nice and secure place to travel around the country. Well equipped kitchen, but there are many nice eating places around 2-3 miles radius, including famous Mt. Lavinia hotel. We most certainly will go back to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Security and the quietness.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northofth...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great base for your trip”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the relax in Colombo villa for 4 nights in November 2014, centrally located for travelling into Colombo city and other major towns with bus and rail stations close by,

The main Galle Road is only a 3 minute walk away where you can find local supermarkets, banks and lots of shops in nearby Mount Lavinia. The villa itself is very spacious we had a double room with a bathroom adjacent which would have been shared with the next room but we were the only people in the villa so we had it all to ourselves. The kitchen and dining area is also very spacious it has a microwave, rice cooker, oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, ironing board & iron, clothes horse for drying clothes, plenty of cutlery and crockery which looked fairly new. (must have been renewed after previous reviews) The caretaker was very polite & friendly, he spoke perfect english and helped us with local knowledge of buses and trains etc.

The only problem we found was the TV reception the picture was not very clear the few times we turned it on to listen to the news channels, but then again we didn't want to watch a lot of TV so it didn't spoil our stay in any way, thinking about it I don't even think we mentioned it to the caretaker as the free wifi worked perfectly and we were able to catch up on the news by logging onto our laptop.

We felt very secure whilst in the villa as the gates were locked every time we left or returned to the villa. All in all a very pleasant stay we would be happy to stay here again next time we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and secure
Liked least: TV reception wasn't good at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments! We certainly enjoyed having you at the property and welcome you to stay again.
I have investigated your comment relating to fuzzy TV reception. It appears that the caretaker had removed the cable from the rooftop antenna to the TV one evening, due to severe rain and lightning. He subscribes to a belief in Sri Lanka that people can sometimes get electrocuted via the TV, if the antenna cable is connected during thunderstorms. He admits that he may just have forgotten to reconnect the cable once the storm had passed. Simple mistake to make, but we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and have taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Best regards,
Priyan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing