We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base for your trip”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Relax in Colombo

Privacy and space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Privacy and space
Bedroom profile Lounge and living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Privacy and space
Bedroom profile
Lounge and living area
Bathrooms with European fittings
Dining room
Eight seater dining
Beautifully furnished
Fully equipped kitchen/ pantry
Casual dining in kitchen
Oven and cooktop
Space and privacy
Galle Beach
Wild elephants at Yala
Old taxis still plying their trade in Jaffna town
Fishing southern style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Colombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
northofth...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great base for your trip”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the relax in Colombo villa for 4 nights in November 2014, centrally located for travelling into Colombo city and other major towns with bus and rail stations close by,

The main Galle Road is only a 3 minute walk away where you can find local supermarkets, banks and lots of shops in nearby Mount Lavinia. The villa itself is very spacious we had a double room with a bathroom adjacent which would have been shared with the next room but we were the only people in the villa so we had it all to ourselves. The kitchen and dining area is also very spacious it has a microwave, rice cooker, oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, ironing board & iron, clothes horse for drying clothes, plenty of cutlery and crockery which looked fairly new. (must have been renewed after previous reviews) The caretaker was very polite & friendly, he spoke perfect english and helped us with local knowledge of buses and trains etc.

The only problem we found was the TV reception the picture was not very clear the few times we turned it on to listen to the news channels, but then again we didn't want to watch a lot of TV so it didn't spoil our stay in any way, thinking about it I don't even think we mentioned it to the caretaker as the free wifi worked perfectly and we were able to catch up on the news by logging onto our laptop.

We felt very secure whilst in the villa as the gates were locked every time we left or returned to the villa. All in all a very pleasant stay we would be happy to stay here again next time we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and secure
Liked least: TV reception wasn't good at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments! We certainly enjoyed having you at the property and welcome you to stay again.
I have investigated your comment relating to fuzzy TV reception. It appears that the caretaker had removed the cable from the rooftop antenna to the TV one evening, due to severe rain and lightning. He subscribes to a belief in Sri Lanka that people can sometimes get electrocuted via the TV, if the antenna cable is connected during thunderstorms. He admits that he may just have forgotten to reconnect the cable once the storm had passed. Simple mistake to make, but we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and have taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Best regards,
Priyan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kosala k
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Well maintained house, what you see in the photos is what you get, clean with ample room for a large family or a group of friends. Secure and convenient location close to Galle road, but in quite surroundings, with super markets (foot city, sathosa), takeaway, dine-in eateries, shops, banks and transport within walking distance. House has all the creature comforts you would expect, from a home away from home, washing machine, A/C rooms, ceiling fans, running hot water in toilets, WIFI internet, flat screen TV. Walled and gated, with onsite caretaker with maintained gardens for kids to run around if required. Enough space to entertain the extended family, or friends while on holiday if required. We most definitely enjoyed our stay when we were at ratmalana, and would recommend this place to anyone looking for great accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to galle road, comfort level and space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayangi
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Property for a break before you travel around the country”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This property is good and feels safe. It is in a good location and a short walk to the shops, which makes things easy as it's self catering. There are a few things which can be improved,like the kitchen cooking utilities are not great,they are so old and most of the pans have the none stick come off and the knifes are so blunt you can't cut anything if you decide to cook. Would be good if can get a generator as sometimes there are electrics been shut down and it's too hot to stay in the house which we had to go out just to keep away from the heat in the house. They also take a deposit once you arrive which is not mentioned on the booking which I found a bit unusual as they check everything before we leave, oh and the telephone can not be used as it has no outgoing only incoming calls, so don't class it as a facility. These are the things that need improving and this is just information for people who would travel and expect to dine at home and not if you will be out all days as if this is the case it is a good property. It's a great place and I would recommend the property to people.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. Your suggestions for improvements have certainly been noted but I wanted to reply as some of your comments may be taken out of context by other potential guests.

Your booking inquiry was received with only a few days before your travel to Sri Lanka. While I was overseas myself at the time, I somehow accommodated your request. Given your haste, we did not get to sign the standard rental agreement I send out to guests, which stipulates that a small breakage deposit of SLR 2,000 (USD 15) will be taken at check-in and then refunded in full at check-out upon an inspection. This is more of deterrant against willful damage than anything else. This requirement was explained in detail by my local agent to you at check-in and it appears you did not raise an issue with it at the time. Clearly, you seemed to like the property while you stayed there, which was the reason you re-booked the property for a second stay, a week later.

As with any other accommodation, telephone calls are at cost to the guests. We do have a phone with dial-out facilities for which there is an extra charge, but you did not request this from the caretaker or my local agent during your stay. Most of my guests have their own mobile phones with a local SIM, so we have not had many guests asking for the dial-out facility.

Pots have now been replaced and knives work fine :-).

Regards,
Priyan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1974yg
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this property in Feb 2014 with a party of 4 adults and 2 kids. The house was large enough for all of us and very clean and stocked up with all mod-con's. The house has a lovely garden in front and we always felt very secure and safe in the property. The owner, Priyan (Australia based), was very helpful and attentive despite being located away from the property. The caretaker of the property who lives next door was incredibly helpful and friendly and helped us in the early days of our holiday. I cannot recommend enough! It ticks all boxes in terms of size, cleanliness, amenities, safety, gracious landlord/hosts and a big A star in terms of price and value for money. We had a car so travel was very easy - for those who don't. The Mount Lavinia beach is only a short taxi ride away as is central Colombo, so location is decent. It is also conveniently located for short day- trips to Wadduwa, Bentota etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socksieMe...
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had three Australian Couples and us, the facilities offered were very good and the house was veyry warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were welcomed by the person who looks after the premises at 3 a.m. with a welcoming smile and was most helpful in assisting us to unload our luggage, show us to our rooms and also explain the amenities. The following morning he was happy to go to the shops for us but as we were already organised with b'fast we didn't take him up on his offer. The garden was swept and well maintained, the house was situated close to the main road where there were plenty of different eating places where one could purchase sri lankan, indian, chinese food as well as pastries, bread etc. It was also in very close proximity to a well known supermarket. Yes, I would and already have recommended the premises to all my friends and intend using it this year too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly caretaker for whom any request was not too much and did everything with a smile
Liked least: Everything was good
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing