We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$196
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$176
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$134
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$173
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Nest(Colombo)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omega Regency(Colombo)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$50
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CityRest Fort(Colombo)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$27/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2 477)
Filter reviews
2 477 results
Traveller rating
1 220
727
322
131
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 220
727
322
131
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden dragonlatitude restaurantclub roomthe sea facing roomssri lankagalle face roadindian oceanluxury hotelindian foodcoffee shopbreakfast spreadhouse keepingbusiness tripcrabsea frontan upgradefront office
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2 477 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As always, we returned to Yumi restaurant at Taj Samudra, and we had an amazing sushi dinner prepared by the sushi chef Sudesh and his team, and served by the wonderful staff in the restaurant.

Just as it is every time, it was a wonderful meal with excellent service and food quality. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Our thanks for another great evening.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your wonderful comments about Yumi Japanese Resto Bar and the service. We will however make sure that your special feedback for Chef Sudesh and the team is highlighted.
Yumi is offering an amazing beverage offer during FIFA Matches till 15th July. We all look forward to welcoming you again to Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Cheers
Warm Regards
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the couple of days we spent here.TAJ lives up to its name and

standards.Highly recommended.

Excellent rooms and a good breakfast spread made the stay very pleasant.Ocean facing rooms gave a splendid view of the beach!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank harish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo during your recent visit to Colombo and for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your valuable feedback with regards to the service and facilities will go a long way in motivating and encouraging the associates to do even better in future.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to Taj Samudra, Colombo.
Warm Regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Taj yesterday for a quick lunch between errands and were very pleasantly surprised by the variety and types of food available at the buffet, from the breads to the entrées to the mains and desert, the food was super tasty! Definitely one of the best buffet experiences in Colombo

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dazzalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo during your recent visit to Sri Lanka and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We have shared your compliments with the Ports of Call Team. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra,Colombo.
Warm Regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most wonderful stay at Taj Colombo when we visited Sri-Lanka last year!! We got a beautiful room with the ocean view..
The housekeeping staff was amazing. A special shout out to Kosala who did everything possible to make us feel right at home - it's very much appreciated and thanks again!

The breakfast buffet had a variety of choices but the service of staff was ok. The manager (I think his name was Mahavardhane - my sincere apologies that I forgot your name) did an awesome job to get that straight..:-)

The hotel is conveniently located and it's nice to walk around.. has a few fancy eating places in and around!!

Their gym is excellent- managed well as well.

The front desk gave me a cute elephant memento on checkout.. it was a nice gesture!

Would love to stay here again whenever I travel to Colombo city again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank shalinichakrabortee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo during your recent visit to Sri Lanka and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We have shared your compliments with the Ports of Call Team, Fitness Center and the House Keeping teams. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra,Colombo.
Warm Regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our 3 night stay at the Taj Samudra was a lovely experience. From check in to check out we were very well taken care of. Special mention of Mr. Dayalan who prepares lovely dosas, uttapha, idly and wadas along with different types of chutneys and Sambhar makes one come back for more ! Thier whole team is out there to take care of you and pamper you !

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best !!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ajay Omprakash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarabjeet_TajSamudra, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Taj Samudra, Colombo!
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Taj Samudra, Colombo during your recent visit to Sri Lanka and for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We have shared your compliments with the Ports of Call Team. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon to Taj Samudra,Colombo.
Warm Regards,
Sarabjeet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews