We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as always!”
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
Ranked #3 of 878 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$155
Description: Named after a Chinese dynasty, Shang Palace is Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts signature restaurant serving a range of traditional regional Chinese cuisine from Sichuan, Dongbei and Canton. Elegant and refined, Shang Palace offers signature dishes including the 'yum cha' menu which features steamed, baked and deep-fried dim sum, fresh dumplings and clay pot dishes,
Restaurant details
Description: Named after a Chinese dynasty, Shang Palace is Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts signature restaurant serving a range of traditional regional Chinese cuisine from Sichuan, Dongbei and Canton. Elegant and refined, Shang Palace offers signature dishes including the 'yum cha' menu which features steamed, baked and deep-fried dim sum, fresh dumplings and clay pot dishes,
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Raveen and rest of the team gave us a fantastic experience as always - great food, great ambience, and exceptional service!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank navamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giordano F, Other at Shang Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear Navam H,

Thank you for the review on your recent visit to Shang Palace, we are delighted to know that we were able to provide again a very good experience, we'll convey your comments to Raveen and the team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Giordano Faggioli
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

It was overall a really good experience. The fried crab rice with crispy scallops was our favorite main , it was rich in flavor but could have had more scallops as we didnt taste scallops in the dish, yet the flavors were deliciously balance and goes well with the hot garlic prawn dish.The view from the restaurant is to die for. Good for a dinner with family or for a romantic fine dining experience.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank inurig2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giordano F, Other at Shang Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear Inuri,

Greetings from Shangri-La Colombo, we are delighted to receive your review and feedback on your recent visit to our Shang Palace restaurant, we'll convey the comments and suggestions to the team so to provide an even more enjoyable experience on your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Giordano Faggioli
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

Delicious food! lovely environment. Nice view. Raveen was kind and helpful. Will visit again soon...

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank dhakshalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giordano F, Other at Shang Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear Dhakshala N,
Greetings from Shang Palace.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to our Shang Palace, we are happy to learn that you had a pleasant experience and enjoyed our food selection and service, we'll ensure to convey your comments to Raveen and team.

Looking forward to see you again soon.

Regards,

Giordano Faggioli
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience after couple of visits which wasn’t top notch as the last, food was delicious and service too was superb.
Special mention of the staff member “Mr Zeenas” who followed all requests made with the preparation and he did change the perception I had of the Shang Palace.
Keep up the good food & service.

Will I return again- definitely

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giordano F, Other at Shang Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Fiyazlsmath,
Greetings from Shang Palace.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent visit to Shang Palace and thank you for returning to our restaurant giving us a change to serve you again.
We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience, we'll ensure to convey your comments to the team and the special mention of our colleague Zeenas.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Giordano Faggioli
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

Food was excellent and the service was brilliant. In a nutshell, it’s the best place to have a romantic dinner!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 303kalindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giordano F, Other at Shang Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Kalindu Rodrigo,

Thank you for you comment and review, we are delighted to know you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Regards,

Giordano Faggioli
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.