We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Room But Very Large”
Review of Narantuul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Narantuul Hotel
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Hotel is simple with basics provided with café, restaurant and friendly staff. Room was very large with a kitchenette. WiFi was fast and reliable. Bed though was hard. Noisey corner location so keep window closed at night and early morning. Good location as on very busy street with shops, restaurants, department stores, etc. an easy walk. Café menu was average so explore outside. About 20-25 minute drive from airport which is not bad with the terrible traffic jams this city experiences. Try it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WATraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2016

The Narantuul is a perfectly adequate hotel in a very convenient location. The rooms are spacious and comfortably appointed, although somewhat dated. I stayed in 3 different rooms (more about that later...), and had minor issues with the showers in 2 of them, but otherwise everything was clean and functional. The desk clerks were smiling and pleasant, but beyond asking for a room key, communication was a challenge since I speak no Mongolian and their English was somewhat limited. The breakfast buffet features a variety of hot and cold foods, and is OK as long as you get there before the food runs out.

Unfortunately, there was a problem with our reservations the second time we stayed at the Narantuul. My daughter and I had booked (and already checked into) separate rooms, but apparently there was some sort of mix-up and the hotel staff needed an extra room. With no prior notice, and without our consent or knowledge, someone decided to move our belongings from our individual rooms into a double room while we we out sightseeing. Whoever did this took great care to place our clothing and personal items exactly where we had left them in our original rooms--to the extent that they must have used photographs to recreate everything so meticulously. On one hand, I appreciate this attention to detail. On the other hand, whoever did this obviously handled and moved all our things without our permission; our privacy was uncomfortably violated, especially since we had left wallets, phones, and many other personal items in our rooms. I cannot say with certainty that anything was missing, although my daughter's wallet was open. Someone also carelessly left keys to 2 other rooms (not our original rooms) in the room.

Being unable to communicate adequately with the hotel staff, we reported the incident to the local tour company who had handled our reservations. They promptly contacted the hotel manager, who expressed shock and concern about what had happened. He assured us that this was not a typical or acceptable practice, and that whoever was responsible for authorizing our things to be moved would be held accountable. I can only hope he will follow through, and that this was an isolated incident. We transferred to another hotel for the duration of our stay in Ulaanbaatar.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank mradack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I enjoy staying here not because it is the most flashy or modern but because for the price of regular hotel I can get an apartment with a bedroom, reasonably sized living area, separate office space and kitchenette.

When I am in UB for more than 3 days, I enjoy having the space to move about.

Decor is old, a bit worn but still functional. Service is minimal but ok. Avoid having clothes washed here, I had bleach stains on some items.

Please note there is no air-conditioning, I therefore have to avoid the hotel in the warmer summer months. Great for 3 seasons (spring, autumn, winter).

But if you want short term space and centrally located (near Ramada), I can recommend this.

Room Tip: High floor facing east. You will get the sun rise here and have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CA-Gloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

Stayed here back in 2011 - the rooms are large, clean and staff friendly.
Plenty of restaurants and bars close to the hotel and about a 10 minute walk down Peace Ave to Chinggis Khaan Square area. Depending on which floor you are on, you get a pretty good view of Ulaanbaatar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank futon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

The rooms are spacious and clean. Not all of the staff members speak English which made communication difficult at times. The breakfast comes in large portions and is very filling. It close enough to the Nomin superstore, the circus and other attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevertravelhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0 km away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
522 reviews
0 km away
Khuvsgul Lake Hotel
Khuvsgul Lake Hotel
#15 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
20 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Nine
Hotel Nine
#4 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
506 reviews
0 km away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#7 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
321 reviews
0 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narantuul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narantuul Hotel

Address: 2 Khoroo, Baruun Durvun Zam | Chingeltei District, Ulaanbaatar 15172, Mongolia
Region: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range: R937 - R1 400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Narantuul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narantuul Hotel is located in the centre of Ulaanbaatar, nearby Gandan Monastery and State Department Store. Free WiFi access is available. Each room here will provide you with a TV, a balcony and a patio. There is a full kitchen with a refrigerator and kitchenware. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with a bath and a bath or shower. You can enjoy mountain view and city view from the room. At Narantuul Hotel you will find an airport shuttle, a 24-hour front desk and a bar. Other facilities offered at the property include a ticket service, a tour desk and luggage storage. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1 km from Ulaanbaatar Opera House, 1.5 Km from National Museum of Mongolian History and 1.7 Km from Chinggis Khan Statue. Chinggis Khaan International Airport is 13 km away. Guest can enjoy Mongolian and European cuisine in Slade Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Narantuul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narantuul Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing