We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Tour”
Review of Gobi Desert

Ranked #17 of 130 things to do in Mongolia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Taree, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Amazing Tour”
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My friend and I started planning our trip to Mongolia last year and right from the first email enquiry Boggie was prompt with her replies. Boggie was able to work with us to plan a trip to suit our time frame, flights and activities that we wanted to do. We couldn't have been happier with the outcome.
We combined two tours - 'Explore Mongolia Private Tour extended with Yak Cart Supported Trekking' - 21 days.
By including two domestic flights we were able to cover a lot of the country. Boggie organised sightseeing tours in Ulaanbaatar and a tour to see the wild horses in Hustai National Park.
We flew to the Gobi where we were met by our guide Sony and driver Denzka. We spent two weeks with Sony and Denzka and they were fantastic. Most of the roads were 4 wheel drive tracks so it was important to have a confident and capable driver. Sony's English was excellent and we felt well supported at all times throughout the tour.
The Gobi was an amazing experience due to the landscape and isolation. From there we travelled to Central Mongolia where we were blown away by the beauty of the grassy steppes covered in wildflowers and literally thousands of the most beautiful, healthy, farm animals. The Nomad families we visited were always most hospitable and it was great to see how they live, totally in tune with their environment.
We then travelled to the picturesque Lake Khuvsgul before flying back to the city.
From there we headed to the Khan Khentil National Park and Gorkhi Terelj National Park for a short trek with our lovely new guide Bulgamaa.
The accommodation throughout was mostly in Ger camps which varied greatly in standard. On the whole they were a lot more comfortable than we expected. All had toilet/shower blocks with western toilets. The food throughout the tour was pre ordered by Boggie and it was fantastic. Many of the meals at the camps were equal in quality to good restaurants in Australia.
We were so happy that we booked our holiday with View Mongolia as it all went smoothly and was so well organised. June was a great time to travel as we were just before the peak tourist season, but the weather was mild and the wild flowers were beautiful. I highly recommend this company if you are planning on visiting Mongolia.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank SLO361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very organized and easy to work with ”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Boggie, the woman who helped us plan our 5 day 4 night desert trip, was wonderful. If you book with them know you will get excellent service from her! She's wonderful!
Our trip was very memorable. We hiked up huge sand dunes, rode camels, hiked up beautiful mountains, met friendly locals, and camped in huge vistas under the stars.
Our guide, Orna, and driver Tzeggy were friendly. Orna was a great cook- even for us vegetarians. They took time to introduce us to the locals and translated for us. Don't forget to bring gifts for the kids! It helps break the barrier.
The only issue with our trip was the car which was slow and a little old. Be prepared for long, bumpy car rides. The roads in the Gobi are bad. But the views and the experiences make it worthwhile. The silence there is an experience I'll never forget!

We highly recommend view Mongolia. Boggie is the best!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Sand dunes and icy valleys”
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Took a tour through the Gobi deserts passing grassy fields and windy lands. Highly recommended for outdoor lovers and those who loves to wake up early in the morning to catch a glimpse of the starry skies and even watch the milky way.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An amazing and memorable trip with great companies”
Reviewed 30 June 2016

It was a dream-come-true trip for us. We have been travelling to many countries over the past 16 years. Trip to Mongolia was delayed every single time we planed for vacation due to lack of information and communication issues. We were very happy with the inquiry and booking process with View Mongolia. All the requests and questions were promptly responded and fulfilled. We took the Discover Gobi tour plus three extra days for Khorgo Therkhiin Tsagaan National Park with nomad family stay.

Great thanks to our lovely tour guide and great driver, Bulgamaa and Munkhbat. They were the main factor for our trip to be so memorable and so much fun. We felt more like one family at the end of our tour. Our kid had a great time and couldn't stop talking about them both.

We had such great time appreciating miles and miles of Mongolia's untouched nature and culture; so pure and so beautiful. Enjoying the gorgeous sand dunes on camel, horse riding on the bed of wild flowers in the gorgeous valley of Khorgo Therkhiin Tsagaan national park, being spoiled by the hospitality of nomad family home stay, being woke up by the family yaks at nights, or even trying to figure out how to keep the fire for heating stove in our ger ... were some of the best travel experiences we ever had.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tigre0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Views for Miles!”
Reviewed 7 May 2016

My wife and I did a week long tour with View Mongolia and the views were indeed quite remarkable! For our tour we went South into the Gobi Region and visited Karakorum as well. Our pleasant experience began before our arrival with Boggie and her attentive customer service. Boggie was prompt to reply to our initial email as well as all our our subsequent ones and really helped us tailor a great custom itinerary. Arriving on the Trans-Siberian they also made sure we were picked up and dropped off from the train station so we didn't need to worry about a thing.

The guide Soni and driver Danzka were really warm and kind people. We enjoyed laid back tour in which they explained a lot but weren't trying to fill the time. Guide and driver isn't even an accurate description of all they did for us. At times they were chefs and even a mechanic when the right suspension of the car was broken by a boulder!

The first night's hotel was subpar with a broken shower and no hot water, but thankfully after that things got better and the ger stays were so memorable and are highly recommended. They always made sure there was adequate water (and coffee!) and let us dictate the pace and schedule as much as we wanted.

We loved our time there and the staff of View Mongolia really made it memorable!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gobi Desert also viewed

 

Been to Gobi Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing