We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Malay Food is here”
Review of Cafe Malaya

Cafe Malaya
Ranked #224 of 1 944 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Price range: R 95 - R 382
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious Malay buffet lunch hidden behind Street 214 in the capital Phnom Penh. Glad I have discovered it. Will definitely bring my friends here who will want to have Malaysian food!

Date of visit: May 2017
2  Thank FredAlmediaPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Been there many times for their buffet lunch and it doesn't failed me each time. Food was great, authentic, they even serve petai which is not common to find in many restaurants.

Location near central market, set up was simple, unpretentious, also played real old classic Malay songs, run by Malay family.

But it could get hot because not air conditioned.

Highly recommended for Malaysian who miss Malay food.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank bernard_tgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

There for lunch. Buffet. Beef rendang. Chicken curry. Fish. Ulam (raw vegetables). Home-made sambal - spicy the way it should be. A small cosy place near the Central Market. Value for money. Syabas (Cheers!) to the Malaysian owner and his family who has been running this place for many years!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tou Boon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Family run business. Famous with Singaporean and Malaysian crowd. Food is superb. Best Kangkong Belachan and Beef Rendang that I ever tasted here in Phnom Penh. Lunch buffet goes for USD6 per person but its really really worth it. Location - walking distance from Central Market.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank syamnizar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I love going to this cafe. The owner is very friendly and the food served is absolutely delicious. The pricing is very special, base on per plate. With the plate, you can load as much food as possible and make sure you finish off what you have loaded on the plate. The curries are second to none and you can always end the meal with a glass of teh tarik.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank MadmanAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Malaya also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Cafe Malaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.