We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
12
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews provide free shuttle brunei dollar pleasant stay room was clean front desk transfer beds airport city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

I was here last week with my friend.We received warm welcome from all the staff.The room is spacious and very clean.Provide free shuttle to the main attractions.The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was amazing and delicious.Location is very strategic with many restaurants and groceries.Walking distance to Aminah Arif restaurant. We had a pleasant stay.We will be back again next time..

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ariespurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alafiahhtl, Manager at Al Afiah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear ariespurple,

Thank you for spending your time to review our hotel. It is indeed a great pleasure to have served you during your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Al Afiah Hotel. I will share your kind comment to our team and i am sure they will be happy to hear such good feedback.

Once again, i would like to say thank you and hope to see you soon on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Aziz Mahit
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Went to Brunei Nov last year and decided to stay at this hotel as they provide free shuttle.but turns out i barely use that service because of the front office staff provide wrong information to us.We had book the shuttle transport on Friday for our activity on Saturday. However the staff fail to inform us that the road were closed due to Hari Maulidur Rasul celebration.
To make it worse,the staff suggest us to walk from our hotel to the city centre and saying that it’s only take 15 minutes but turns out it takes almost an hour! We also try to book the shuttle transport on Sunday, but the road closed and they saying we can take boat from hotel to the city with free of charge but end up the boat driver says we had to pay for the ride.
Others like room and food is nice.The only thing is that the staff. Somehow, it ruins my day in Brunei.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Guestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alafiahhtl, Manager at Al Afiah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear Adelle,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the poor services that you received during your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you have encountered. We take every feedback to the highest priority and have highlighted your comment with our team and the management. For your information, we have taken steps to ensure this matter will not be repeated in the future.

We hope that the unfortunate event won't stop you for staying with us in the near future and in hope can regain your confidence with us. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you.


Yours sincerely,
Aziz Mahit
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2019

I stayed for 2 days for 3 person, as requested, they provided an additional portable bed to us, and charged about 30 brunei dollar extra. They also provided transfer to and from the airport. Overall, their staff is very nice and professional, thank you to the staff. The hotel looks small from the front, but actually they are pretty large. The room is spacious and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast food was nice! If you need to get to the city, you can either take car taxi or water/boat taxi from the hotel, as the river is situated at the corner of the hotel building.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Husse_Serk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlAfiahH1, Manager at Al Afiah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Dear Husse_Serk,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying at our hotel.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your comments are really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Rani Yusof
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

very freindly palce nestle near the river very quiet and restaurant with their buffet showpiece the bruneian foods lot of little shops and restaurant the pick up and drop off service excellent we even ask for a late check out we stay till 4 pm thankyou the management the room was clean everything you want in a hootel well done guys

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlAfiahH1, Manager at Al Afiah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Dear Marie C,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel. Your positive comments are really appreciated.

We look forward to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Rani Yusof
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Located close to Sungai Kedayan (Kedayan River, which is a branch of Brunei River). It is away from the city centre (Bandar water front). However nothing is very far from Bandar water front. The reception is on the ground floor but the rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. The room was clean, well air conditioned, equipped with in-room safety deposit box. I like the beautiful wood grain on the furniture. Breakfast was plentiful, both of local and western varieties.
The front entrance of the hotel is shown in the attached picture.

Taxi is difficult to get because everybody seems to have a car in the prosperous country. But the reception can help. Local transportation is available from the bus terminal at Bandar but the route may or may not suit your schedule or destination. Or if you want to tour Kampong Ayer (Water Village) ask the hotel van to take you to Bandar water front at no charge. While walking around the Dirgahayu 60 monument at the water front, you are most likely to be approached by a boat operator offering a tour of Kampong Ayer and sightseeing on Brunei River. After the tour you can ask the operator to take you to Al-Afiah Jetty (picture attached), which is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. There are restaurants and shopping in the neighbourhood.

Similarly you may be approached by a driver offering a tour of the city and surrounding area. In any case you should negotiate the price.

By the way I found that Brunei dollar and Singapore dollar are interchangeable.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank uhamdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews