We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tacos!”
Review of District Federal

District Federal
Ranked #358 of 5 412 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Description: District Federal is an authentic Mexican restaurant, bringing flavors & tastes from DF (Mexico City). At DF, we make our own masa from yellow corn, for our tortillas, tacos, tostadas and chips. We make homemade fresh cheese (Queso Fresco), Mexican Crema and all other sauces, salsas and marinates. Our chef, Victor, hails from Mexico City and he brings years of Mexican culinary experience with him to Vietnam. Our menu, whilst offering authentic Mexican cuisine, also caters for the less authentic "Tex Mex" styles of dishes, in order for us to satisfy diverse tastes and experiences. Along with traditional, tacos, tostadas, quesadillas and enchiladas, we have an extensive chargrill section on our menu, of Carne Asada, ribs, wings, fajitas, octopus and squid. We have an extensive vibrant bar with fresh juice Patron Tequila margaritas, spirits and beers. At DF, we have created a fun and lively dining experience, with authentic Mexican cuisine, awesome drinks and cool Latino tunes.
Restaurant details
Description: District Federal is an authentic Mexican restaurant, bringing flavors & tastes from DF (Mexico City). At DF, we make our own masa from yellow corn, for our tortillas, tacos, tostadas and chips. We make homemade fresh cheese (Queso Fresco), Mexican Crema and all other sauces, salsas and marinates. Our chef, Victor, hails from Mexico City and he brings years of Mexican culinary experience with him to Vietnam. Our menu, whilst offering authentic Mexican cuisine, also caters for the less authentic "Tex Mex" styles of dishes, in order for us to satisfy diverse tastes and experiences. Along with traditional, tacos, tostadas, quesadillas and enchiladas, we have an extensive chargrill section on our menu, of Carne Asada, ribs, wings, fajitas, octopus and squid. We have an extensive vibrant bar with fresh juice Patron Tequila margaritas, spirits and beers. At DF, we have created a fun and lively dining experience, with authentic Mexican cuisine, awesome drinks and cool Latino tunes.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

The Tacos were very good comparing to the other Mexican places in Saigon. The owner definitely put a lot of effort to create an authentic mexican place like this

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank tommybuiirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2020

Prompt service, good music and delicious food. District Federal did not disappoint. The Mexican bahn mi was simply delicious!!!
Wish we could've sampled some house tortilla chips (not offered by the restaurant). Overall, did not disappoint. Would highly recommend a meal here.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelSunnFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

I've been going to this place since it opened. The food is consistently great and the menu is constantly evolving as the owners are continually experimenting/innovating. Service is pretty good and loads better than the standard in Vietnam. I talked to one of the owners--very hands-on, very passionate about searching for improvements. He talked about the process for making their tortillas, how many mL of water per 100 grams of masa, how they roast pork skin for chicharrones...I got lost in the details but clearly he is driven to find new delights for the menu. Examples: molcajete salsa, new vegan menu, etc. Occasionally they have live music, which is fun.
On one occasion my food came out cold (they were extremely busy). I pointed it out, got an immediate apology from a manager, and they made it right very promptly.

I read a few extremely negative reviews here before writing this. Interestingly they're all clustered around the same time. I'm sorry, they sound like poor attempts to slam this place made by competitors. Over the course of several years and many meals (and many more margaritas) I've always had a great experience here. To those who complain it's not "real" or "authentic" Mexican food...tranquilo, estas en Vietnam, tome una cerveza y no te preocupes. It's flavorful and plenty spicy and reasonably priced, and the menu is a lot more interesting than any other Mexican place I've been--including in Mexico.
(oh...they have a wicked mescal too...)

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SojoA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

Great place, very spacious and well located. They now have a full vegan menu which is delicious. Highly recommended for people who have a vegan in the group! Everyone will have a great time.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank JenFrenchFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020 via mobile

This is one of the best Mexican food places I have been to in HCMC. It’s very new restaurant with a very uniquely designed pub and restaurant.

A wide variety of Mexican food selection is avalible. Even small parties could be hosted at this place.

Lovely atmosphere unique design that being in good vibes.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Sid_sidath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed District Federal also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to District Federal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.