We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience but check the extras bill”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
75 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jeff S
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great experience but check the extras bill”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We traveled with a larger special interest group and the Margarite Garden cruise was part of a 2 week itinerary, the junk chosen by the organizer. We occupied all but one room and the general view was that the cruise was excellent. The junk was well equipped, quite clean and comfortable although one person had bites from bed bugs after the night's sleep. Additional activities such as Tai Chi, cooking class, kayaking, cave tour etc were all enjoyed. Meals were set menu and included but drinks were extra and a reasonable price given the captive market and the space limitations of the boat. Wifi was intermittent. One unpleasant experience at the end, when paying for the drinks while on board we were charged for extra beer and water we did not consume. I had signed drink tabs during the cruise that had showed total numbers not amounts. When I was presented with these tabs to pay, additional drinks had been added to the totals. It was only a few dollars but left a bad, and lasting, impression. When I spoke to some other group members later, they had just paid without checking, so probably were stung too. Overall, very good but insist on the price being shown on any extras tab.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience of the junk
Liked least: The scamming for additional money on the extras bill
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy, nice and clean; incredible tour guide and staff”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed overnight on the Marguerite Junk - the staff went to a lot of effort to entertain us, answer our questions on a variety of subjects, and engage genuinely with everyone on the tour group. The boat itself was really quite nice.

The biggest stand out point was our tour guide, Quáy (sorry Quáy if I have spelt your name wrong!!). Quáy really threw herself into getting to know each of the guests and into making sure we all had the trip we were looking for. Her warmth, energy and genuine friendliness is what made my stay enjoyable.

One particularly outstanding point was that the staff contacted me to refund some extra money I hadn't even realised I'd paid, a good couple of weeks after I'd returned to my home country. Thumbs up for honesty!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene Z
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I'd recommend Marguerite with no doubt, if you aren't looking for a very luxury and expensive trip, but a good middle class 3-star room, good food, very nice guide Qui, nice tourists (of course, that can't be guaranteed at all - but it was) to have good time together.
Well organized.
If you want to save money - order the package at their website - and you will get a good hotel stay and airport transfer for a very reasonable price. City trip with the guide will be just a gift - I compared the prices...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caecilie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good to see the bay, but could have done more on the boat”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on the Marguerite Junk for one night and although it was good to see the bay, we could have had more time for activities, as there was a lot of sitting around. We did about an hour on the canoes and the cooking demonstration lasted about 15 minutes. They also provide limited free water, so make sure you take some with you!

Having said that, our tour guide Tong was very kind and knowledgeable about the islands, city and told us about the Vietnamese culture on the bus transfer down. The food was also good and the rooms were very clean.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie F
Vientiane
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No attention to detail, overpriced, and overbearing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I did a two day, one-night cruise with Margeurite Junks and would not recommend this company to anyone looking at Halong Bay cruises. The boat is nothing like what the pictures look like. Small, cramped, horrible beds. The cabins were not ready (no batteries in air conditioner control, dirty beds, trash shoved in room closet, dirty windows, cockroaches in bathroom, etc). When we were asked for feedback on the boat it ứa in front ò all the other guests and it made it awkward since we had so much to bring up. The response from "Mr. T" the cruise manager ứa that since he didn't stay in the guest rooms, he đin't realize the problems. All the boat crew smoked cigarettes that you could smell near the cabins at night. One bottle of water only that ứa complimentary and then we got yelled at for buying bottles from a local seller and bringing them on the boat.

The thing that made the trip really bad however ứa the tour guide- Peter. He hovered and controlled every movement. Stood by my husband and I while we were playing cards and trying to enjoy alone time and the scenery. He couldn't take hint and really made things hard to enjoy. Ì we weren't right by his side during the cave tour, he would ask why, even ì we were just trying to get out of the way of other people. During the shuttle rides from Hanoi to the bay, he awkwardly kept trying to entertain the group, when it ứa clear everyone ứa doing just fine on their ơn and đin't want to be bothered.

If there ứa any way to get our trip refunded, it should be. I will be talking with our travel agent as well to not recommend this Halong company again. Therere are plenty of other options~!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing