We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!”
Review of Baan Rim Pa Kalim

Baan Rim Pa Kalim
Ranked #258 of 2 943 Restaurants in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$92
Description: Baan Rim Pa Kalim is a recent addition to the award winning Baan Rim Pa restaurant group. The amazing sea views, famous Royal Thai cuisine, elegant piano and cocktail bar along with Wine Spectator "Two Glass" cellar makes this a restaurant not to miss on your visit to Phuket.In English only, no HTML, no web or email address, no ALL CAPS
Restaurant details
Description: Baan Rim Pa Kalim is a recent addition to the award winning Baan Rim Pa restaurant group. The amazing sea views, famous Royal Thai cuisine, elegant piano and cocktail bar along with Wine Spectator "Two Glass" cellar makes this a restaurant not to miss on your visit to Phuket.In English only, no HTML, no web or email address, no ALL CAPS
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Had two memorable and exceptional meals again on this trip and agree this newer restaurant surpasses the original. Some famous and memorable dishes from over 20 year some ago still on the menu - caramelised chicken in pandan leaves, the steamed crab dumplings in the shape of roses and mauve in colour were two we reordered among other new and exciting dishes. Service was as impeccable as always. I don't think it is expensive either by international standards, I believe it is very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PabloNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne U, Manager at Baan Rim Pa Kalim, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for returning to Baan Rim Pa Group. Very pleased to hear you love our new restaurant Baan Rim Pa Kalim.
Your review is what makes our team happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

We went ahead with Baan Rim Pa Kalim, bearing in mind the comments here on its price-point. Yes, this place is on the high-end; but my husband wanted a pretty, peaceful Birthday dinner treat for me. Our family of 7 was given a corner table, right in front of the ocean. The Phuket vegetable dip platter gave a spicy kick; we'd ordered various dishes to share (a highlight is the fried fish). Wine is higher priced here (so go with cocktails :) We received a mango sticky rice dessert (in the shape of a heart) for the birthday song. What made this review move up to 5 stars is the memorable interactions with Louise (their pianist, who could play songs we requested from memory, and always with a smile. Jazz standards, some classics, you name it...he made the night extra special).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JuLiaLee_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa Kalim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

So pleased you enjoyed our restaurant and of course our wonderful pianist Louise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing dinner for my husbands birthday. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic! They even sang happy birthday to my husband

Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuePhuket, Manager at Baan Rim Pa Kalim, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

It's always gret to hear that people enjoy our restaurant. Very hasppy your husband had a nice Birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The facility and location are terrific, but you'd be better off to walk through and admire the place on your way to a different place to eat. Went for a family dinner with youngest child 11. Found it curious that the place was not crowded at 7 pm on a Thursday night, but soon discovered why. Unfrequented, they sat us in the smoking section; we had to waive down the multiple wait staff that were merely standing by in the distance; drink order - wrong; wife ordered the lobster (very expensive) and they brought all other 5 meals to the table and just walked away. Figuring they would be rushing back to get her meal, but only came back with the spice rack. Asking whats up with the lobster, they said it would be their shortly (without any remorse). It came almost 10 min after the others that were almost done, without any real apologies; had to waive them over again to come clear finished plates, asked if we wanted desert (wanted out of there) said no, then disappeared back to the standby area until I had to waive down and ask for the bill. All smiles from them on the way out - as if this must have been their best day. Overall facility/location was great, service is TERRIBLE; food average (at best) - but its a dinner spot, not a museum.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne U, Manager at Baan Rim Pa Kalim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Fortunately we make most people very happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

a lovely meal, beautiful surroundings, very professional attentive staff. Food was good value for a restaurant of this quality. Wine list was comprehensive but expensive as per expectations.

Thank lisamcg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne U, Manager at Baan Rim Pa Kalim, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed BRP Kalim. Wines are expensive due to our high taxes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Rim Pa Kalim also viewed

 

Been to Baan Rim Pa Kalim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing