We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Culinary Pearl Amoungst Many "Non Pearl Places”

The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 1 268 Restaurants in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Cuisines: Asian, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Established on Valentine's Day in 1997, is Pattaya's best venue for great food and a huge selection of all your favourite beers, spirits and wines. Enjoy a true British pub atmosphere. All the major sporting events are shown on our large screen plasma TVs. There is a free slate bed pool table for our customers. We also host regular Golf Tournaments. Every Thursday is our popular quiz night. Please explore the website to discover some of the great things that await you here at the Sportsman.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had the Sunday carvery and OMG, it was nothing short of superb. This rating is not against other eateries in Pattaya, it is against eateries any where around the world. It is only the second time I have eaten there but it will be a regular from here on in. The roasts were up to the standard of my mother in law and take my word for it... that is no mean feat. I read some negative reviews about this place and given what was said, the manager/owners response ... and the truth, I urge you to totally disregard ANY negative review and try it for yourself. I think you will find that the only disappointing thing for serial complainers ... is they will having to complain about. My God, the owner or manager (not sure which) is on hand over seeing everything so what more could you ask for!?. The only thing I would say as a small issue, the Thai's will be Thai's and I was walked past several times, not spoke too or anything in regard to welcoming me and taking me the seat we booked. This is every customers first impression and simply a little bit of instruction to staff, will resolve this. My Thai lady was totally against this place because she thought there was nothing for her to eat but when it was pointed out by the "boss" that there is Thai food at the back of the menu, and she loved the food, I am finding myself being instructed to go to the place again tonight (the next day!!!). I expect this will be a regular request from her which I welcome because she is not a "restaurant eater", she far prefers the street food which will make me anorexic if this is my only option.

I accept without question how Thai staff just "lose the ball" in EVERY Thai place I go so maybe the owner needs to address this in his absence so there is no opportunity for anyone to complain about the service

I you look at a couple of my reviews in the past, I am certainly not adverse to giving poor reviews if it is justified and my honesty is reflected in this review ...of course

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank TheBigKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartfordDarren, General Manager at The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi thanks for the review it is much appreciated and thanks for the amount of detail its great to hear from our customers

We are constantly coaching our staff regards customer service , returning to a table during a meal or "upselling" are western service standard practice, in Asia servers generally consider it a bit rude to come over unless called , its something we continue to work on but its a small cultural difference that we try to address on a daily basis

It was myself "The Manager" who pointed out the Thai menu , at least one of us is generally available and visible most of the time , especially during peak hours on busy days to help with the menu or service

Hope to see you again soon , and once again many thanks for the fantastic review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Wow, food to die for.
Had Sunday carvery and a breakfast here .... not at the same time.
The food is superb and the chunky monkey shake a delight.
TAR and the girls are so helpful and patient whilst fumbling over what to have.
Thank u TAR :)

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartfordDarren, General Manager at The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for the review Phil it is much appreciated and glad you enjoyed your visit , i will mention it to Tar :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

One of, if not the cleanest place we visited during our time in Pattaya. The premises are immaculate, the staff are very pleasant and attentive. The menu is varied and the food is quite excellent, whether Thai or English. The decor is very "English" and it is like a little piece of England here in the middle of Thailand.
The fact that we ate several times here says it all. Some days breakfast if we were going out on a trip (They open at 0700), some days for lunch and other days for an evening meal.
Various sports are on the numerous screens throughout the room and outside.
Management involvement is quite apparent and shows in the high standards shown. Well done!
Every day there is an offer available, either food or beverage and a food "special of the day,"
On Sundays they have a carvery and whilst we didn't try it, it looked extremely nice.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank davieMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartfordDarren, General Manager at The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi thanks for taking time to leave a review it is great to hear from our patrons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

I come for pizza buffet. Variety of pizzas come out continually: margharita, pepperoni, various combinations, usually 4 types to choose from. Spaghetti with plaim, bolognese and carbonara. They have some very tasty or'duerves plus a salad bar. Nice decor. Air con. No complaints at all.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CrummyJuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartfordDarren, General Manager at The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We went on the eat all you can Pizza and salad evening. Pizzas were thin base soggy and tasteless, all the pastas were very stodgy and unappealing and salad average. Never again.

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank grahamjw691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DartfordDarren, General Manager at The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018
Google Translation

hi sorry you didnt enjoy your visit ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to The Sportsman Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing