We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and lovely service ”

Paak Dang Riverside Dining
Ranked #29 of 2 380 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Delicatessen, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set on the Ping River, Paak Dang offers a beautiful dining experience in a 2 story Lanna Style Teak Wood house. We serve authentic Thai food that will tickle and tantalise the tastebuds of both the Thai local palate and our friends from all over the world. The open concept kitchen run by led by Chef K-Jin offers a full Thai menu with something to suit each and every single person. Paak Dang has also been set up with a mission and vision - to provide employment to the less privileged from the neighbouring villages and hilltribes and currently has a team of more then 20 staff catering to a 60 seat restaurant. With a wealth of experience between them, the owners of Paak Dang, K-Jin & K-Lin both work hand in hand to equip their staff with many important life skills. Open for dinner daily with a serene and beautiful setting on the Ping River. Reservations highly recommended for the best tables by the river. Come and have an unforgettable dining experience at Paak Dang!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the river and brimming with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this restaurant is one of the nicest I’ve been to so far. The restaurant was set up to invest in employees from humble backgrounds and train them up into positions in catering and management. The introduction in the menu asks for your patience, but don’t let that mislead you: the staff were knowledgeable, friendly and could not have been more helpful if they tried. Our waiter even called for taxis at the end of our meal to ensure we made it back safely.

Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1 180 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The foods are really poor for the price we paid for. They are charging an exorbitant price for the foods whereby we can get it cheaper, tastier at any street stall. Moreover, they insist to charge bring in wine per bottle at Baht 300. The only restaurant thus far that imposed corkage charge in Chiang Mai. We are afraid to order crabs and lobster after trying on their basic foods. Definitely not authentic Thai foods.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boonma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-Lin L, Owner at Paak Dang Riverside Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, your review didn't come as a surprise to me and if I may say so, I was in fact waiting for it.

You were upset from the onset simply because we wanted to charge you a corkage fee for the 2 bottles of wine that you brought. And because of this you are now giving us a bad 2 star review despite us offering to charge you corkage for only one bottle. You claim that no other restaurant charges corkage and if this is the case, you haven’t been to the right restaurants. Please note that we have fully done our research before implementing a corkage fee.

Your reluctance to pay the corkage fee is like telling a hotel you want a discount on the room rate because you brought your own towels. The hotel still has to offer towels to other guests and your room rate is based on what it takes for the hotel to run. Whether you use your own towels or not, the rates pay for everyone’s towels. Likewise for a restaurant, the owners will still need to pay for their staff to wash your glasses and to serve you. Maybe you should try bringing your own meat to the next restaurant you go to so that you can get a discount off?

You say that our food is absolutely bad and to this I have the following to say. If this was true, why then did your table finish every single morsel of food???We would say more but the countless 5 star reviews we have received raving about our food and service say it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Chiang Mai for a few days in late March 2018 and went here based on the many 5* reviews on Trip Advisor.

Drinks ordered and arrived within 2 minutes, so onto the menu to choose our meal.
We had several things off the menu and couldn't fault one of them.
The service was above and beyond what you would expect and the table cleared promptly between courses.
The Mai Tai was the best my wife had sampled around Thailand and the Chocolate dessert I had was so good, I had two !

Once again, thanks to trip advisor, we went home full and will return soon to Paak Dang.

Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view was great, the food were good, the service was excellent. Especially the yellow curry crab (800g/1650thb). The best! Better to make a reservation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our tuk-tuk driver didn't know the location of Paak Dang, so we put it into Google maps and off we went without any problems. The restaurant is in a beautiful setting, with two levels of outdoor dining overlooking the river. The food was delicious, especially the fish. A singer with guitar provided lovely music that didn't ruin the serene ambiance of Paak Dang's location. But most of all, the mission of this restaurant -- to help underprivileged kids develop life skills by employing them and training them -- is impressive and seems to be working. The wait staff are young, attentive and earnest. Paak Dang is out of the way of the more visited tourist spots, but it is so worth the effort for not only the food, but also to support the wonderful vision of its owners. Don't worry about getting back to your hotel. The restaurant ordered a tuk-tuk for our return ride to the hotel and told us what the price would be. Great service!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paak Dang Riverside Dining also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Paak Dang Riverside Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing