We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viang Luang Resort
Nearby Hotels
Rachamankha(Chiang Mai)
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$54
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$608
US$543
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G2 Boutique Hotel(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$156
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
18
9
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
9
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot cold waterquiet streetnight bazaar areasunday night markethotel is beautifulwould definitely stay here againgreat locationclean roomsbreakfast buffetold townwalking distancetoasterlinensbathbalconyloungerspool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Hotel was located off the busy main roads so it was quiet at night. Very clean, rooms very moderately sized. Our 4 nights booking came with breakfast, they had good selection of cooked food. Staff were helpful.
A few things that lessen a 5-star rating:
1) it was cold weather when we were there and the hot water in the shower were erratic. It would be very hot 1 second and very cold the next. This hot-cold water happened at every bath. Staff said that they had been trying to rectify the problem.
2) I took a chocolate muffin on the first morning during breakfast, it was dry and stale tasting. The next 3 mornings, the same muffins were displayed during breakfast. Not good.
If u can see beyond these, I would recommend it for the cleanliness and location. Would stay here again, they'd promised to fix the water.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank modacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

An excellent resort! We had been staying there for 5 days! The location of the resort is just opposite to Wat Changdi Lung. Thus if you need a tuk tuk or red car to go back to resort, the drivers know what you are talking about. The resort was very clean and new. You can’t find a bug in the room even the trees grow from ground floor to your balcony. The service of the resort was nice. Every staff, the security guards, house keepers, smiles and stays hello to you!

The only down side was the shower and the bath; the water isn’t hot enough and the temperature of the water was not stable. Although there is a great bath tub, we cannot enjoy it since the water is not hot enough. Since Chiangmai’s weather is always warm to hot, we can still enjoy the shower.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this resort. Staff super friendly and very accommodating. Room very luxurious and clean. Great location near centre of Chiangmai. Would definitely recommend and stay again :)

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

The resort is located in small and quiet alley but it is convenient to walk around . It's beautiful and nice hotel. The room is spacious for two people, very well-decorated. The staff is super friendly, helpful and caring. We had a tour in the early morning and they packed the breakfast in the evening the day before. We did enjoy staying there. Highly recommenced.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TienMach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We'd been booked for a third night into one of the chain hotels near the Night Market but our first 2 nights there were a disappointment. The place was shabby and completely without any character. And...compared to Viang Luang, ridiculously overpriced. (It appeared to be on the tour bus route judging from the number of group tourists.) When we happened to see Viang Luang while walking around the city, we checked price and availability for that night, booked a room and couldn't get back to the original hotel fast enough to cancel and move our things. Viang Luang is a hidden gem on a small, quiet street in the Old City. Staffed with competent, helpful and gracious personnel, it is beautifully designed and decorated, carefully maintained and spotlessly clean. Our bed was extremely comfortable, the linens a pleasure to sleep on, our balcony room overlooking the pool reminiscent of a lagoon difficult to tear ourselves away from. While the word, "Resort" in the name of this property might conjure up visions of a destination with a gym, large pool, spa, etc., this is not the case. Viang Luang is a quiet, sophisticated and lovely small hotel that is like an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annelizrue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews