We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable anniversary”
Review of Le Normandie

Le Normandie
Ranked #24 of 13 014 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$170
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bang Rak
Description: Awarded 2 Michelin Stars in the inaugural Michelin Guide Bangkok, Le Normandie is acclaimed for its contemporary French cuisine by Chef Arnaud Dunand-Sauthier. Pure and precise flavours, wonderful taste combinations and the subtlety of herbs and seasonings offer a genuine and unique experience of haute cuisine. Le Normandie offers breathtaking views over the Chao Phraya River through floor-to-ceiling windows. The elegant surroundings featuring vintage crystal chandeliers and stunning flower arrangements create a unique air of sophistication. Noted for its splendid menu, impeccable service, elegant ambiance and superb river views, Le Normandie offers our distinguished guests an exceptional fine-dining experience.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Everything about this place is absolutely stunning and the entire experience was only made greater as we stayed in Mandarin Oriental. Already when we walked through the hotel lobby we were greeted and escorted to the elevator on which we got the story of being the first of its kind in Thailand. When entering the restaurant we immediately got the feeling of a truly outstanding service, which continued throughout the night. On top of this, the setting is spectacular and so is the authentic atmosphere and the food. For dessert they had arranged a lovely complimentary cake in connection with our anniversary, and we simply could not have asked for a better night. The level of service and attention I have never experienced higher, yet still discrete. Top class!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Morten L

Thank you for this superb review on TripAdvisor!

I am extremely pleased to read this wonderful feedback of your anniversary dinner at Le Normandie and glad you were able to fully enjoy this special moment with your loved one.

Thank you as well for your kind words about the service that I am happy to share with the team.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, for another memorable experience.

Kind regards

Rahman Bousnina
Maitre d'hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 1 085 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

I know Le Normandie has recently got a two star Michelin. Their services worth a 4 star. I found the 3/4 course menu are not as good as before and we four were a bit disappointed with the soufflé.

still think its' worth to go if you stop at Bangkok

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 806enidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear 806enidt

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read about your dining experience at Le Normandie and glad that you were able to enjoy our legendary oriental service.

Good note has been taken regarding the dessert and we will review it with the Chef accordingly.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future, at the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Rahman Bousnina
Maitre d’Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

It’s hard to describe how outstanding this restaurant is. Everything from the attentive service, the wine pairings by the junior sommelier who served us, the ultra-professional staff and of course the magnificent food, was delightful. We had the 3 course set lunch, which was perfect and not so filling that you feel that you have to be rolled out of the restaurant. My crayfish salad was light and refreshing, the barbaric duck exquisite and I would certain recommend the dark chocolate soufflé to round off the meal. (Oh and of course the amuse bouch and petit fours were also great!)

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Nrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Nrink

Thank you for this superb review on TripAdvisor!

I am delighted to read about your wonderful dining experience at Le Normandie and extremely pleased that you enjoyed it at the fullest, especially the service and food & beverage offering.

Thank you again for your kind words and I look forward to have the immense pleasure to welcoming you back very soon to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, for another memorable experience.


Kind regards

Rahman Bousnina
Maitre d’Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Had to wait all of 20 seconds on arrival and was apologised for the wait, so good. Service throughout simply outstanding, courses smallish but outstanding; 3 with the extras thrown in and I was fully sated. Name recognition(after a 2 year absence, if you don't mind), the escort to and from the restrooms, the attention to detail. Crepe Suzettes served at the table. A genuine greeting on exit. Brilliant, a must do while in Bangkok. Damage-@$160 for 3 courses with matching wines, sparkling water and s Singh.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank G4200YHmikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Mike J

Thank you for this superb review on TripAdvisor!

I am extremely pleased to read that you decided to return to Le Normandie and had once again a memorable dining experience.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and they are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed the service as well as the menu.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future, at the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, for another memorable experience by the River of Kings.

Kind regards

Jules Dubois
Assistant Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We had the absolute pleasure of dining at Le Normandie Restaurant on a Saturday lunch time. We had the set menu, but upgraded the wine pairing to 8 wines with 4 courses. That was an exceptional decision. As we are involved in the wine industry in South Australia we were looked after by the Sommelier and all staff in the restaurant. We'll definitely be returning the next time we're in Thailand. We couldn't have asked for a better dining experience anywhere on the planet. Absolutely sensational food wine and service!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FabPhilfromMagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear FabPhilfromMagill

Thank you for your superb review on TripAdvisor!

I am extremely pleased to read about your memorable dining experience and that you fully enjoyed your dinner as well as the wine pairing and were able to discover our wide selection of wines.

I have shared your fabulous comments with the team and they are delighted to hear about your experience.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future for another memorable dining experience by the River of Kings.

Kind regards

Rahman Bousnina
Maitre d’Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Normandie also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Le Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing