We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value guest house in Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holyland Guest House
Ranked #62 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is my first trip to Nepal and my second hotel in Kathmandu. A great experience! For a budget solo traveller, the quality/price ratio is excellent and the location couldn't be better - on a quieter street  near the main arteries of Thamel with all its restaurants, bars, trekking agencies and shops. Also  Momo-Star restaurant, well known for its very good and reasonably priced momos, is on the other side of the street.
The hotel staff is very welcoming and always ready to help, especially the owner Birendra (who also runs a booking agency from his office and can book all your trips/tickets  for you). He speaks a few Asian languages and his English is good too, we had great time chatting on the roof top terrace with a glass of Nepali wine (pretty good, actually), that he had brought for the occasion. Two young fellows (Akashi at the reception and Biraj at the roof top restaurant) are trying to do their best as well. I really appreciated the thorough everyday's work of the cleaning lady in common areas -she does such a fantastic work that even the outside terrace near my room never has dust!
As  everywhere in Kathmandu, except maybe some posh hotels, you'll experience electrical black outs for long hours during some days (you can find the power schedule at the reception) and some minor plumbing problems. However there is always light in main common areas of the guest house and the WiFi is also powered by backup batteries without interruption. Internet connection is decent everywhere, the roof top restaurant including.
 I will definitely return there after my trekking in a few

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Nepali and Western pop music every evening till midnight from the bar behind the guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you all holyland guest house staff for your warm and welcoming hospitality.
its was a very good experience when i stayed in kathmandu with your guys for 5 nights.
very friendly and helpful staff as well and neat and clean rooms.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are good but i would recomment deluxe rooms, they all have good deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pthapa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This place is the best value in Thamel. It was my second time in Nepal, but I stayed here both 1st time and this time, and I have stayed here for several days. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and there is 24 hours wifi and hot shower! Staff are very friendly and helpful, too. It has at-home atmosphere, so a lone traveler does not feel lonely. I really enjoyed chatting with them.
The location is great, easy access to many tourist attractions. Kathmandu can be a bit confusing to walk around, but staff are there to assist. Always asking how to get places you wanna go can be a good idea, because the staff knows fastest and cheapest ways to get there. There are many nice and both local and fancy cheap eateries around the guest house. I did not have to walk far to find good food for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanako I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for few days.
Holyland is a good hotel withe the cheap price.
Location is prefect,nearby main road and near a good quality restaurant "momo star"

Owner and staff is kind and friendly here,
they're young and experienced ,knowing how to help tourism.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for three days gearing up for my Everest trek. The staff helped me with everything from finding cheap gear, flight tickets and location of the nearest pharmacy etc. Kathmandu can be a bit confusing at first if it's your first time here. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfy, had no problem sleeping. The area is full of restaurants and basically any kind of shop you need. I will definatly comeback here after my trek!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor, it was quiet. Wifi didn't reach the room so i had to stand near the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0,9 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1 235 reviews
4,3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1 645 reviews
0,9 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
1 271 reviews
3,3 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1 123 reviews
0,3 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#56 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyland Guest House

Address: Bhagawati Sthan | 29-Thamel, Kathmandu 21851, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: R137 - R192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holyland Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyland Guest House is family environment, friendly staff. we are very happy to give you a very warm Nepalese welcome. Our property has 19 well decorated rooms with modern facilities. Every room is clean and comfortably furnished, with wall carpeting, It has wide bathroom, 24 hour running hot and cold shower, Free WI_FI internet with wareless, cable TV, loundry service, room with balcony in quiet location, roof top garden provide exclent view of Syambunath known and Monkey tomple. Most room are sunny with great value. The Guest House has roof top garden restruent. Our Guest can have breakfast, Lunch and dinner continental, Nepali and Indian foods. Our Guest House lies in heart of Thamel. where most tourists visit and stay for arranging their program. We are within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, and some of Kathmandu's most famous attractions. Location: Our Holyland Guest House is located in the main tourist hub of Thamel and 7 km away from international airport Tourism Development Council office and Tourism Bank in Thamel are also located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holyland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing