We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 2 585
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Protea Hotels
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Merchant Adventurer
Christchurch, New Zealand

Friendly staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2019
I stayed at the Protea Hotel for two nights while in Lusaka for business. I had a reservation at the InterContinental however I was unable to stay there due to a shortage of rooms. Cancelled flights meant that guests were not leaving the InterContinental. They arranged my reservation and transportation to the Protea. The staff at the Protea were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The air conditioning unit in the room was noisy. I ate at the restaurant and the food was good.
The hotel is conveniently located close to two shopping malls.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paradise67623018247, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka, responded to this review
Responded 23 Sept 2019
Dear Justin H ,

On behalf of the entire hotel TEAM, it was our pleasure to welcome you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka. Thank you for the positive feedback, we are so happy to hear that the services and facilities met your expectations. We have taken note of your comment and please be assured that management is addressing the issue raised.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon whenever your travels bring you back to Lusaka.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 2 493
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 832
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Exterior
InterContinental
R 6 126
R 4 801
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 570
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 250
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
12.7 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
R 2 179
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
14.3 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 326
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 393
1.6 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 287
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 733
  • eDreams
1.7 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 800
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 828
0.7 km from Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lusaka
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
47
121
60
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
121
60
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2019

Stayed there for 3 nights and fully understand there are power cuts in Zambia, but to have no hot water in the morning for a shower for 3 days is not great, surely the hotel managemnt should be doing something about this, and if they are not then why are they charging top dollar. Workman started drilling and hammering at 0700 in the morning, not great to say the least. Aircon is commonly known as a window breaker, you could not sleep with it on durng the night if there was power. Breakfasts were good.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paradise67623018247, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Mark V,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing a review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay with us, kindly note that management is addressing your concern to ensure that this remains an isolated issue.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to have another opportunity to better your experience with us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

I stayed in this hotel for a few nights and I enjoyed it. The food was nice and the staff were helpful and friendly. I stayed in a sible room which was comfortable. This hotel is close to 2 x shopping centres which makes it convenient.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Road28696268127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stephankwint, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2019

Dear jbez2015,

Thank you for staying at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka and sharing a review. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding the location, room, food and STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon whenever your travels bring you back to Lusaka.

Kind regards
SK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

This is one of my most enjoyable stays at a hotel. The rooms are large and spotless with incredible people on hand to assist. The staff at this hotel along with the duty manager are just superb. I wanted to watch a particular sports tv channel but other guests wanted something else... no problem the duty manager arrives at my room with her laptop to stream the tv channel I wanted! Absolutely amazing how helpful they are at this hotel. Waiters, concierge, reception and managers you made my stay so pleasant thank you.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Winks-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paradise67623018247, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear Winks-123,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka. Our TEAM is continuously working to ensure flawless service and to produce great experiences for our GUESTS. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us, please be assured that we will definitely congratulate our TEAM for doing an exemplary job. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

We would love to host you again and we will ensure that your stay is just as memorable the second time.

Kind regards,
RH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel is clean and functional and centrally located close to various shopping centre’s and restaurants. The buffet breakfast is fantastic. Small splash pool and various conference rooms available.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mnheunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2019

Our most preferred hotel for many years now, the family rooms are spacious and comfortable. The service is great, Good Breakfast options. Just in minutes your into the Arcades Mall, you wont go wrong !

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 259keyurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RitaH2399, General Manager at Protea Hotel By Marriott Lusaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2019

Dear 259keyurp,

On behalf of the entire hotel TEAM, it was our pleasure to welcome you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka. We are glad to hear that the services and facilities met your expectations. Thank you for the positive feedback and taking the time to share with us your experience.

We would love to host you again and we will ensure that your stay is just as memorable the second time.

Kind regards,
RH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews