We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
R 4 783
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Flyer
WashingtonDC

an oasis in Kampala!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024
My spouse and I stayed at the Kampala Serena for two nights when we were visiting Uganda, and overall, I thought that this was a modern hotel that seemed like an oasis of serenity in a bustling town.

This hotel is essentially a large complex with a separate conference center and multiple buildings. The landscaping and lush gardens really give this a “serene” vibe. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful, across-the-board.

Check in was easy, and we were able to snag a high floor. Views aren’t a big thing here due to all the tree cover, but that is fine. The rooms were modern and well-appointed.

I don’t really have any comments about the location because Kampala is not really a "walking destination" where you explore the area. We did opt for dining in the hotel a lot just due to work constraints and a certain degree of wanting to relax. The buffet always had local options, which was important since we were looking to try more than just Indian and American food.

The spa is nice, but the spa chair table had a huge screw going through the head area, which was very random and unpleasant. The gym facilities were extensive, and had a sauna and steam room and plunge pool.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Dear Flyer099,
Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at the Kampala Serena Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed your stay during your visit to Uganda. Our team takes immense pride in their dedication to exceptional service, and it warms our hearts to know that our associates were uniformly friendly and helpful throughout your stay.
While our spa and gym facilities offer relaxation and wellness, we sincerely apologize for the unexpected inconvenience caused by the spa chair table. Rest assured; we will address this promptly to ensure a seamless experience for our valued guests.
Thank you for your continued support, and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
View from lounge
Tripadvisor
R 1 925
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 685
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 685
0.8 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 624
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 624
1.5 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 402
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • FourPoints.com
    R 3 920
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 288
1.0 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 749
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 098
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 758
0.7 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 273
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 564
2.5 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 148
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 790
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 006
9.8 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kampala
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
556
225
24
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
556
225
24
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakes restaurant the pearl wonderful hotel room service business trip breakfast buffet main restaurant comfortable rooms entebbe airport enjoyed my stay spa africa explorer security environment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024

_Serena have a good customer care service
_Elegant rooms for rest
_Accommodation is designed to meet the needs of corporate and leisure travellers.
_Its swimming pool are durable, maintenance and have a smooth surface.
_The environment is very welcoming,tress that are for refreshment.

Room tip: Accommodation is designed to meet the needs of corporate and leisure travellers
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Dear Q1861WSsandrak,
Greetings from the Kampala Serena Hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your delightful experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our establishment welcoming and secure. Our commitment to providing exceptional service extends to every guest, and we are glad you appreciated our customer care. Our elegant rooms are meticulously designed to cater to both corporate and leisure travellers, ensuring comfort and convenience during your stay. Our swimming pool is not only durable but also well-maintained, with a smooth surface for your enjoyment. The serene environment and refreshing greenery add to the overall ambiance, creating a tranquil oasis for our guests. Once again, we appreciate your loyalty and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang’u,
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2024

We introduced new couples to our favorite getaway spot this weekend, and they said - more than once - that we gave them a new favorite destination for time away from busy jobs and schedules. Best pool in Uganda and always clean; great food, outstanding service, wonderful rooms, perfect weekend!

Room tip: If you ask, they will graciously give you a late checkout time that allows you to enjoy the pool even longer.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear Odyssey697306,
Greetings from the Kampala Serena Hotel. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We are delighted to hear that you introduced new couples to our favorite getaway spot and that they have fallen in love with it. Creating cherished memories and providing a serene escape from busy lives is what we strive for. Your kind words inspire us to continue delivering exceptional service and maintaining our tranquil ambience. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon for more unforgettable moments. Yours Sincerely,
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

I stayed here twice in March 2024 while travelling on business. Employees are very friendly. The rooms are traditional and quite old but have a nice African feel. The breakfast was great. Would definitely stay here again. Check-in and check-out was always smooth and easy. No complaints at all.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Vikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear Viki A,
Greetings and thank you for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel for your business trips to Uganda. We are absolutely thrilled to hear about your positive experience and your promise to return. Our dedicated team takes immense pride in delivering exceptional service, and it warms our hearts to know that our employees made you feel welcome. The blend of traditional African feel in our rooms adds a unique charm, and we are delighted that you appreciated it. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours Sincerely,
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

The ambience in the breakfast area at the Serena is just amazing! The nature sounds from the water falls, the pond with water lily and croaking frogs, the tweeting little birds. And this is before you get to the bountiful spread. Yes the value for money for a drop in customer is an open question especially for a senior citizen with disciplined palate but then again perhaps that senior citizen will not quibble over a few thousand shillings.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank peeUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear peeUG,
Greetings from the Kampala Serena Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a delightful experience at our breakfast area. Your kind words warm our hearts and motivate us to continue providing exceptional service. We take immense pride in curating an environment that allows our guests to connect with nature while enjoying their meals. Our culinary team works tirelessly to ensure that every dish is a harmonious blend of flavors, textures, and visual appeal. Regarding the value for money, and as mentioned, while we aim to provide an exceptional experience, we also recognize that each guest has unique preferences and priorities. For our esteemed senior citizens with discerning palates, we appreciate their attention to detail. Rest assured, we continuously evaluate our offerings to strike the right balance between quality and affordability. Once again, we appreciate your patronage and hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

I like it's central location. Very easy to connect to especially force work engagement like a workshop. It's large area ensures a safe and secure free parking and quiet large rooms with wifi. The food and drinks are okay and are served within a good distance to your workshop area

Room tip: Old timers, the new main entrance is on the lower gate
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank aagaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Dear aagaba,
Greetings from the Kampala Serena Hotel. Thank you for choosing our property for your workshop. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our prime location, delicious food, high-speed WiFi, and exceptional service. Your positive feedback encourages us to keep doing our best. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews