We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
R 4 879
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Cecilia Ogude
New York City, New York
Beautiful grounds and lobby
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jan 2024via mobile
The lobby and the grounds service were beautifully maintained and the service was just as well done and ensured you had everything you needed. The actual room unfortunately isn’t at the same level as the lobby and grounds and the bed I felt were up to standard for a 5 star hotel.
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
R 1 100
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 098
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
R 3 079
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 770
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    R 3 456
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 580
0.8 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 124
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 2 754
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 994
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 3 329
  • Priceline
    R 3 962
4.9 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 304
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 668
  • Agoda.com
9.8 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kampala
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
556
224
24
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
556
224
24
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakes restaurant the pearl wonderful hotel room service business trip breakfast buffet main restaurant comfortable rooms entebbe airport enjoyed my stay spa africa explorer security environment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2023

Going to Kampala Serena Hotel -Kampala Uganda has been an amazingly peaceful experience.
The customer service is really amazing and the place is so spacious and beautiful for everyone.
I will surely come back.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Mirembe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Dear 464Mirembem.
Thank you for choosing the Kampala Serena Hotel and for sharing your amazing experience with us. We are delighted to read that you had a peaceful and relaxing stay at our hotel, and that you appreciated our customer service, spacious and beautiful facilities. Your satisfaction is our greatest reward and motivation.

We are honoured by your loyalty, and we hope to see you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance with your future bookings or travel plans. We are always glad to help.

Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

I really enjoyed my stay at the Serena. I've become accustomed to the comfort and service at many of their chain and Kampala is up there as one of the best. The hotel is located dead centre with very good security.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Dear edsK722WI,

Greetings from the Kampala Serena Hotel. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property and exceptional service. As a hotel, we continuously strive to meet all our guests needs while exceeding their expectations and we are delighted to hear that we are keeping true to our commitment. Once again, we appreciate your business support and for sharing this amazing review with other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

The hotel may be getting old and needs to get a much needed refurbish, but it still certainly delivers on in class, character and excellent service.

I like the convenience of the hotel being close to our offices in Kampala, but that is one of many benefits that the hotel has.

I always enjoy the Indian food at the hotel. I generally only have the buffet breakfast and supper. Andrew certainly delivered with excellent service whenever he served me my supper and excellent suggestions.

Marilyn at front desk was super helpful and assisted me graciously.

Staff are always friendly and helpful.

There are a number options for meals: buffet and ala carte at the main restaurant. Also serves some traditional Ugandan options as well. Explorers and Pearl restaurant for more refined dining needs. The bar also has light meals.

Satellite television channels are available and excellent WiFi to stream if you want to watch something else. You can also pay on demand for movies that you want to watch.

I love that you have a iron and ironing board in your room to match sure that you look you best for your meetings - there is also laundry service which is also available.

There are also meeting venues available on the first floor.

There are is also a stunning garden to take afternoon walks and the pool is also stunning.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JulianN460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Dear Julian,
Thank you very much for always choosing to stay at the Kampala Serena Hotel for all your visits to Uganda and for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property, hospitality and exceptional service. We are deeply humbled. As a hotel, we continuously strive to meet all our guests needs while exceeding their expectations and so we are delighted to hear that we are keeping true to our commitment. I will be glad to share your review with team especially those mentioned above, for am certain they will be motivated. Thank you very much once again for sharing this amazing review with the travel community and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2023

Visited Serena for dinner and had the ribs which in my opinion were the best I ever tasted , in fact they were so good I had it twice .
Our seating was near their small lake which has a Frog chorus which just added to the overall experience.
Staff were all great too, they also do a great selection of cocktails , I will definitely visit there again

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ronniemP8098LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2023

Dear Ronnie,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us on this platform. We are glad to hear that staff were friendly, responsive and the ribs menu served was delicious. We have shared this feedback with the chef and we looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2023

Great hotel with a very good environment. Great vegetation. Kind staff always ready to help and close to malls. The rooms are nicely done and well kept. I enjoyed my stay here…only the bathroom is too small otherw I would give a five star

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Bwarui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kampala Serena Hotel, Other at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2023

Dear Bwarui,
It is a delight to read your excellent review of your recent stay at the Kampala Serena Hotel. We are glad to hear that you found our property and staff exceptional in all ways but, most importantly, enjoyed your stay. I will be honoured to share this encouraging feedback with the entire team with our enhanced commitment to continue offering the best of Serena's hospitality and service. Once again, we appreciate your continued business support and we will be excited to welcome back in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Daniel Kang'u
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews