We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
letsgoflyakite
London, United Kingdom

Great place to stay in Kampala

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Nov 2011
The Serena in Kampala is a great choice of hotel for it's location, good service (despite being extremely busy and security heavy as our stay was in the midst of the stay of the president) and lovely grounds. Luxurious but cosy, the rooms were a pleasure to stay in - beds gave us a really good sleep, nice bathrooms. The mist bar was very nice. The food was ok, not so great in the Explorers restaurant but the waiter handled our comments very professionally. Breakfast spread/food was fantastic. Connecting to wifi was a bit of a problem - disappointing when you're trying to work, and the issue did not get resolved. Room service was extremely prompt. Staff in the spa very helpful. We would stay here again.
Date of stay: November 2011
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 281
R 3 913
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 281
1.0 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from lounge
R 2 150
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 974
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 974
2.4 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 227
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
La Grande Hotel
R 1 281
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 281
3.9 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 575
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 518
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 618
1.5 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 650
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 019
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 921
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kampala
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
556
225
24
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
556
225
24
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakes restaurant the pearl wonderful hotel room service business trip breakfast buffet main restaurant comfortable rooms entebbe airport enjoyed my stay spa africa explorer security environment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I just spent five nights at the Serena on my first (but hopefully not last) visit to Uganda. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms have every amenity you need and are very quiet. The service is excellent and the breakfast is delicious. The grounds are lovely and the location is quite central in the city. Charges for laundry and business center are reasonable.

A minor quibble: the wifi was a bit spotty and the connectivity slow.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2011

You can't get better than this hotel in Kampala. Great rooms, service is great, as is the spa!
The location of the hotel is very central.

I definitely recommend this hotel for stays in Kampala.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Serena, Kampala is a lovely hotel with commendable service and a functional location. It is by far the best I have stayed in through all of Uganda. Rates are fair and I highly recommend it for the cleanliness and facilities. Best bar in Kampala.
My problem is that the structure should have been torn down and rebuilt from scratch. In the 1970's and into the 80's this hotel, then known as the Nile Mansions, doubled as a main torture centre for Idi Amin and then the regime of Milton Obote. Needless to say, no amount of renovation can ever erase the horrors hidden in its history.
Sorry to say but February was my last visit to the ( now ) lovely Serena, in honour of those who perished there.

Room tip: Do not stay on the bottom 2 floors .
Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tuktukcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After a one hour trip to the hotel, you are given a very warm welcome and are dealt with very efficiently and quickly. The basic rooms are excellent and I give the hotel 10 stars for the best pillows in Africa! I have stayed at the hotel 5 times over the past 4 years and have always found it a great place to stay. Central location for all of my meetings. The prices have risen a little more steeply that I would have preferred and the place is now higher in price than my budget allows, but still a lovely place, good ambiance and a great breakfast for th business traveller.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1businesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2011

If not the best hotel in East Africa, certainly the top business hotel in Kampala. The staff is very friendly, courteous, helpful. The main restaurant, Lakes, has a wide choice of food, always excellent, expecialy breakfast.
The rooms are spacious with all modern amenities you would expect from a Five-Star hotel, which this one deserves. If you can, ask for a room facing the front (ie pool); rooms facing the back of the hotel, face the Imperial Hotel in the back... not so nice.
Pool area , fitness center are just amazing... Do not miss tea time ...very worthwhile, you won't need to have dinner...

Room tip: Ask for room facing the front, facing the pool or the garden. Ask for an upgrade, they are slightly larger but regular rooms are fine.
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEMC_NINE_NINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews