We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
R 4 759
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
joideviv
Carmel, California

Adequate stopover before touring the truly worthwhile stops

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2011
Nice clean hotel, charming setting, safe and secluded from the bustle of the city. Food and service is adequate, though nothing to rave about.
Date of stay: September 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
View from lounge
1.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.6 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
2.4 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.9 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Harts Motel at Bulange Mengo stands out as the premier choice for hospitality in Kampala, offering a blend of comfort and elegance. With its tastefully designed rooms and attentive staff, guests experience a delightful stay, complemented by modern amenities and personalized service. The strategic location near Bulange Mengo provides convenience, while the exquisite dining options and meticulous attention to detail make Harts Motel a top-notch hospitality destination in Kampala.
3.2 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.5 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.7 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
2.1 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
9.8 km from Kampala Serena Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kampala
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
556
224
24
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
556
224
24
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakes restaurant the pearl wonderful hotel room service business trip breakfast buffet main restaurant comfortable rooms entebbe airport enjoyed my stay spa africa explorer security environment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Of the three hotels I stayed in on my recent trip to East Africa, the Serena was by far the best. The hotel is situated on what must be a five-acre compound filled with flowers, lagoons, high-arching palms, and a beautiful pool. The hotel gym is enormous and well-appointed. Service was fantastic, with the staff extremely welcoming and very helpful. I was only able to stay one night, but wish I could have spent more time there! Great location in central Kampala, which is, itself, a nice city.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahlerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very comfortable and well-furnished hotel in Kampala - clearly the nicest of the many I have stayed in here. Rooms are tastefully furnished, large, clean and quiet. Food is extraordinary, if not too abundant, and service is terrific. Wonderful gym and pool. Only downside is the absolutely glacial internet.

Room tip: Rooms with even numbers overlook a quiet alley, rooms with odd numbers have a nicer view of city but also are over a pond with some of the loudest frogs I've ever heard.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2011

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in, and I travel a lot. Beautiful art decorates the lobby and hallways. Great staff. Excellent food. Lots of choices for food and different settings. Great pool. What more can I say? Yes, it is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was my first stay in the Serena Hotel Kampala, but it is not going to be my last! The price of room service is very reasonable and food plentiful. The bathrooms and the rooms are spotless clean. More importantly, the personel is friendly, courteous and very effective. From the cleaning ladies, to the operators, the restaurant staff, at the reception...they all seem to enjoy doing their work and they seem to have boundless energy and enthusiasm to do it.
I strongly recommend this hotel if you come to Uganda
Dr. Jules Millogo

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 661Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Loved my stay at this hotel. The room service was seamless and within reasonable time.
Room are spacious only downside was the super slow free WIFI.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews