We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$181
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
77
43
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
43
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main camp bush baby two nights mlilwane ladies ruth lodge swaziland accommodation banana feeding luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge is situated in the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary. There are plenty of smaller antelope here who come close and are not frightened as well as some good birding so the place is excellent for photography.

The Lodge is slightly remote with very pleasant but old fashioned rooms (which add to the charm). Our room (Reilly's Room) was probably the largest and best with a comfortable bed, wooden flooring and nice wooden furniture. The bathroom is very old school but functional and there are nice patios all round to sit and relax.

There are ceiling fans but no air conditioning so it did get very warm and no safety box in the rooms but not really a problem here).

The stay is dinner bed and breakfast, lunch is not provided and if you need lunchtime sustinance you need to go to the main camp which gets very busy. The food is not fancy but adequate.

Service (from Ruth and Lizzie) was extremely friendly and we were made to feel very welcome.

It is not a "big game" safari lodge but a nice place to spend a couple of days relaxing.

Date of stay: December 2015
1  Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thank you for a wonderful review! It sounds like you really embraced the peace and quiet of Reilly's Rock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

A very, very nice lodge in a beautiful naturepark. The people were very kind en the service was excellent. Not cheap but worth it to be there. It was the lodge were Prins Bernhard (Prince of Holland) stayed very often.

Room tip: Excellent rooms! One room is not recommended because it is locked up between other rooms and is very stuffy.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarijkevdPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

Thank you for your lovely comments on Reilly's Rock. The staff will be told of your kind words, which they love to hear.
The rooms are all the original rooms (1928!) and to make them more private and spacious, we enclosed the veranda around the two standard rooms bringing their bathrooms into their area. It was a challenge, but the big bathroom windows allow good light and air through. But yes, Fern Room is slightly cut off.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

A lovely old lodge furnished with interesting antiques and comfortable furnishings within beautiful gardens. Our bedroom had no window so we found it difficult to sleep and the food ,dinner and breakfast were just ok. The staff were friendly and obliging and we felt it was a nice stay for a short visit

Room tip: Probably avoid the standard rooms
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thank you for your review.
It was a challenge converting our old home into a lodge, and the Standard rooms were the most difficult! They used to have separate bathrooms, until we enclosed the veranda for more private space. Each room has a fan for air circulation. Opening the bathroom windows helps too.
Your comment regarding the food has been sent to our Operations manager - thank you.
Lovely comments about the staff, gardens and furnishings, thank you!
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This is a real glimpse of the past. A stone house build in the early twentiest century with rooms who looks like the 1980-ies.The food and service was oké and the service was done with a big smile! The garden was beautifull and also the birdlife.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you experienced the friendliness of Reilly's Rock staff.
Interesting you think the decor is 80's - we upgraded all interiors in 2014 in botanicals in keeping with the colonial theme, but hoping for a fresh ambiance...we didn't have 80's in mind at all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Reilly's Rock was offered by another hotel in the neighbourhood. It was a fantastic surprise - a time travel back to the 19th century.
Of course, as a time travel, some people may find the room a little uncomfortable, but the nature, the hosts, the rest of the place let us forget about the luxory need. We just had a fantastic and very romantic time.

We just wish to come back.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

Thank you for your review! Lovely to hear you enjoyed the romance of Reilly's Rock.

We are concerned about the comfort comment and would love to hear more. We are assuming this is due to the small rooms (standard) as opposed to the luxury (larger) rooms.

While we made physical adjustments to Fern, Palm and Wallis Rooms by including the veranda, we did not want to interfere with the original exterior walls of the homestead so these rooms are a little cozy. Including the veranda as little lobby's was the best we could do to extend our guests' personal space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews