We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
77
43
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
43
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main camp bush baby two nights mlilwane ladies ruth lodge swaziland accommodation banana feeding luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015

A lovely old lodge furnished with interesting antiques and comfortable furnishings within beautiful gardens. Our bedroom had no window so we found it difficult to sleep and the food ,dinner and breakfast were just ok. The staff were friendly and obliging and we felt it was a nice stay for a short visit

Room tip: Probably avoid the standard rooms
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thank you for your review.
It was a challenge converting our old home into a lodge, and the Standard rooms were the most difficult! They used to have separate bathrooms, until we enclosed the veranda for more private space. Each room has a fan for air circulation. Opening the bathroom windows helps too.
Your comment regarding the food has been sent to our Operations manager - thank you.
Lovely comments about the staff, gardens and furnishings, thank you!
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This is a real glimpse of the past. A stone house build in the early twentiest century with rooms who looks like the 1980-ies.The food and service was oké and the service was done with a big smile! The garden was beautifull and also the birdlife.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you experienced the friendliness of Reilly's Rock staff.
Interesting you think the decor is 80's - we upgraded all interiors in 2014 in botanicals in keeping with the colonial theme, but hoping for a fresh ambiance...we didn't have 80's in mind at all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Reilly's Rock was offered by another hotel in the neighbourhood. It was a fantastic surprise - a time travel back to the 19th century.
Of course, as a time travel, some people may find the room a little uncomfortable, but the nature, the hosts, the rest of the place let us forget about the luxory need. We just had a fantastic and very romantic time.

We just wish to come back.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

Thank you for your review! Lovely to hear you enjoyed the romance of Reilly's Rock.

We are concerned about the comfort comment and would love to hear more. We are assuming this is due to the small rooms (standard) as opposed to the luxury (larger) rooms.

While we made physical adjustments to Fern, Palm and Wallis Rooms by including the veranda, we did not want to interfere with the original exterior walls of the homestead so these rooms are a little cozy. Including the veranda as little lobby's was the best we could do to extend our guests' personal space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

what a great glimpse of the past. Beautiful house with period furniture and modern amenities. All the little details taken care of with minimum fuss. The food and service was great while the bird life and game was bountiful.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank trevorc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Owner at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Thank you for your positive review! Its been a great summer for birding, to be sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Our stop in Swazilend was an extremely pleasant experience. Reilly's Rock is amazing: on the top of the hill, with al the "old-good-times" atmosphare, lovely rooms, beautiful landscapes, cozy gardens full of flowers and trees and birds and butterflies and quiet antelopes, a dream place either in the misty mornings or in the evenings having dinner with excellent local food around the fire. A place you'll keep close to your heart!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann R, Public Relations Manager at Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review! If you felt rested and rejuvenated, while inspired and enriched, we feel we have hit the mark! Will be sure to let the staff know.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews