We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$205
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$184
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Pension Uhland(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Thule(Windhoek)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Country Bed & Breakfast(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arebbusch Travel Lodge(Windhoek)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
210
166
35
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
166
35
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeet other travellersfriendly vibequiz nightbus stationfree walking tourgreat kitchenfree breakfastsecond homenice bardorm roomself catering kitchenplace to stayhoneymoon suitelarge kitchencentral windhoeksouthern africasmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely staff, very helpful! Have a bunch of excursions to take you on and day tours. Nice to relax by the pool. Lots of friendly guests. Easy communication with other sites allowed for easy transportation. Arrived late to the site and they were waiting for me and gave me the room no problem!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kailec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was little wary of staying here considering usual impressions of a backpackers lodge. I was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms, bathrooms and staff are very polite and helpful. The place is very clean. Beds are comfortable but I would not say same about the pillows and comforters.
Locations is in CENTER of Windhoek and walkable to most shopping and sight seeing.
Great value for money.
I also booked a safari to etosha national park and Swakopmund through them. It was very well organised and the accommodations we stayed at were very good. All thumbs up.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank evertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed the first night in Namibia in Chameleon. The staff was very friendly, the room nice and clean and the room had also a toilet/washing room. The breakfast was good, in the clean kitchen you can cook. In the evening you get something to eat. You can sit in the nice courtyard with a little swimming pool. It's not so far to walk in the city and go shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mtauske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In June '18 we booked a trip with Chameleon safaris and started the trip in Cham. Backpackers in Windhoek. This is a truly great hostel with dorms but also with btiful 2 persons/ensuite rooms... so you can make a choice.
It's a cosy place with an international sphere. Not noisy or party-like They offer a great meal in the evening and the bar is a good one. The swimming pool is small and under constructions when we were there. They also provide in really good day trips with enthousiastic guides and good vehicles.
The accomodated safari we booked with them was really great. The drive /cook/guide was fine and so were the lodges and hotels... really amazing and certainly recommendable.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank hermworp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire G, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback and really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our swimming pool is now fixed (water leak issue that we needed to get under control due to eternal water shortages in the desert) but after a cold snap i'm afraid it's probably too cold to enjoy at the moment, despite the solar heating.

We do work really hard to ensure that all experiences, be it at the backpackers, on our day trips, or even the multi day safaris are the best possible value for money, so really glad that you choose Chameleon for your Namibian Adventure.

All the best and hope to see you again in Namibia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stay at Chameleon 2 night, on arrival and departure day. Located few step away from city centre, was the perfect spot for us. Staff at reception and bar is smart, efficient and informative about the city and tours available. Relaxed atmosphere, large kitchen, nice continental breakfast included in the price and typical namibian dinner ( vegetarian choice available) for 80 NAD except sundays.Great wifi and very little tiny swimming pool close to bar area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank francegentili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews