We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
85
194
76
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
194
76
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the bay maputo bay pool area business trip top floor very nice hotel room for improvement pleasant stay gym mozambique dhow passport bribe usd
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Great Hotel with lots of nice little restaurants in streets nearby
Great pool area and breakfast balcony
The gym has lots of machines tv's free water in the fridge and views to die for.

One MAJOR down side is that the bar staff try to rip you off by trying to add extra drinks on your bill and once their supervisor sneaks home early they close the bar early even when people are still drinking at the bar

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal D, General Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience following your stay here at the Cardoso Hotel, Maputo.
I have taken note of the points you raised regarding the bar service and action has been taken for these occurrences not to happen again.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Regards,
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

So we did not spend the night here, but rather used the pool and the restaurants, which were both great! The location is fantastic and I wish we had stayed here. The service was excellent and when we do return we will definitely stay here.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank FifOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal D, General Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback you shared following your experience at the pool and restaurant with us, here at the Cardoso Hotel.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit to Maputo.
Regards
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The Cardoso is very well located within Maputo with easy access to major roads, the Costa del Sol and other amenities. Maputo high-end hotels are generally quite expensive and the Cardoso offers excellent facilities at a far more reasonable rate.
The hotel was very busy on New Year's Day which affected service around the pool area, but it was still well within acceptable standards.
Will definitely use this hotel again for stop-overs!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _Corne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal D, General Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kinds comments following your stay, here at the Cardoso Hotel, Maputo. The team is looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stop-over in Maputo and is encouraging you to stay longer to really take advantage of the facilities and by visiting our historical city!
Regards
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight on way to the coast. The room was a good size and there was a balcony with a good view.

The pool looked like the place to be on a sunny day.

There was a good selection of English language tv channels and wifi was reliable.

As I write this there intermittent power cuts which thankfully did not happen overnight.

Date of stay: January 2016
Thank Trinbagonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal D, General Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your stay with us at The Cardoso Hotel in Maputo. We really appreciate your feedback.
Yes, the pool and garden are the perfect place to be on a sunny day and to watch the beautiful sunset over the bay.
We had lately some power cuts but thankfully to our generator we can minimize their effect.
Regards
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Lovely hotel with excellent views all around, good service. The restaurant is wonderfully situated with a fantastic view over the city and bay and has an excellent buffet spread. Nice large rooms, though a fridge in the room would have been nice.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BvE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal D, General Manager at Hotel Cardoso, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments you shared following your stay with us at the Cardoso Hotel Maputo. The team is delighted you had a great experience for your overnight stay and hope to welcome you again during your next Maputo visit.
Regards.
Pascal Demarchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews