We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Meva Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meva Guest House
Ranked #11 of 106 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. So hidden that's it's almost hard to find, but the place is great! I stayed 3 nights and found Jhonny, the manager, and rest of the staff to be cheerful and helpful.
They do serve breakfasts and dinners, provided you order early. The menu is preset and seemed to be exclusively local fare which is great!
Though it seems like there is nothing around, there are quite a few restaurants on the main road (Korean, Fish and Chips, etc) and a Shoprite just down the street.
Jhonny helped organize a day trip to Andasibe at the last minute which was great.
I would definitely recommend this place to other travelers if for no other reason then that it's close to the airport with minimal traffic.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank jasonsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

Ramartour are fantastic. We stayed with them in Antanarivo. They are 1st class, awesome accomodation from start to finish & great to stay w them post airport/pre airport. Fantastic value for money too. Jonah is great

I couldnt find much info on Ramartour on the internet but you can see my reviews on here & my ratings - they are 1st class. Pls PM me for info!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed here overnight between flights. The Mea organised a driver to pick us up at the airport late at night which made arrival much easier. The room was comfortable but we did have to put up our own mosquito net. The guest house is in a lovely little compound and breakfast was served in the small kitchen area. Jhonny was very helpful and spoke good English and he helped with our booking and our onward travel. This guest house is about 20 minutes from the City centre but close to the artisan market and airport.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delerious8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My family moved to Madagascar and stayed at Meva Guest House for our first three months. For us, it was a "home from home" and the service was the best we have ever experienced in a hotel or guest house. As soon as you arrive, you are greeted with warm Malagasy smiles and a pretty tropical garden, with trees that have incredible scent. The rooms are modern, but retain a Malagasy sense of style and are very well equipped. We stayed in the family room, which had everything we needed, including good wifi, and a lovely view of rice paddies. They are cleaned regularly and we found that nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who are also happy to wash your clothes. Breakfast is excellent and satisfying, and even my fussy children's tastes were catered for. The manager, Jhonny, helped us with everything we needed and really went above and beyond his role as a hotel manager. He is like a personal assistant for all the guests and it is impossible not to like his happy, friendly demeanour. Wendy, the owner, is friendly and chatty, and has successfully created a truly welcoming guest house - a little oasis in Antananarivo. For us, relocating our entire family to Madagascar was a smooth and easy transition, thanks to Meva Guesthouse and its amazing team. The best value for money compared to other places in Tana, by far.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

A really welcoming place. Clean and tidy. Wendy, Johnny and Co are really great hosts and its such a pleasure staying here. This is the second time I've stayed and they have made both occasions absolutely comfortable. Thank you guys. God Bless!

Room Tip: All are of a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gavin0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mada-wendy, Owner at Meva Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you so much and hope to see you again with a team to come and serve in this beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1,7 km away
Chez Jeanne
Chez Jeanne
#8 of 106 in Antananarivo
59 reviews
9,8 km away
Maison d'Hotes Mandrosoa
Maison d'Hotes Mandrosoa
#3 of 106 in Antananarivo
57 reviews
9,5 km away
#6 of 106 in Antananarivo
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,3 km away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#9 of 60 in Antananarivo
413 reviews
7,1 km away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
9,5 km away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meva Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meva Guest House

Address: Lot 70 E Imerinafovoany Talatamaty, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range: R 391 - R 438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Meva Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Talatamaty area of Antananarivo. Our guesthouse is only a 10 minutes drive from Ivato international airport and 15 minutes from the big handicraft market. The Dutch owner speaks English, Dutch ofcourse, French and Malagasy. A friendly and homely place to stay in Antananarivo whether for one night while waiting for a flight, or as a base for visiting the Capital. We can cater for Holidaymakers, Volunteers, Families and Business men. For longer stays we offer self catering rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Meva Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing