We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really Lovely Place but could do with some...”

Review of Ghana Beach House

View from garden looking towards the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from garden looking towards the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
View from garden looking towards the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Accra, Greater Accra

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gbolade S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Lovely Place but could do with some makeover”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Positives:
The Beach House is exactly what it says it is...a beach house. Right on the edge of a public beach but, the area is good enough to give you a sense that the beach is private for your use. The people in the area are quite friendly and willing to help make your stay enjoyable. We came as a group four adults and four kids and at no time did we feel unsafe. The swimming pool in the house is also an added benefit. Though the property advised you may have to pay for diesel to power the generator, we stayed a week and at no time did we experience power cuts, so put a good discount on your diesel charge

Opportunities to Improve:
Facilities in the house could do with some minor uplifts. The temperature control for the showers downstairs is faulty as you can only oscillate between extreme cold and hot temperatures. Be prepared for a fairly extensive water bill compared to neighboring facilities. I raised this with Oscar the house keeper and hopefully in the future this can be looked at.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdzandza
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An incredible place to relax and get married!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I chose this incredible house to get married in and what an amazing decision we made! The venue was exquisite and Oscar was always at had to help make sure that the big day and our whole stay went off without a hitch.

We had 10 people staying at the house, guests at Sankofa beach house and others in kokrobiete. As soon as everyone walked into the house they fell in love with it. We used the garden at the back of the house for the ceremony, before all going down onto the beach for drinks as the sun started to set. Then we came back up to the house for the Reception. We could not have asked for a more perfect venue.

The bedrooms were beautiful and were cleaned each day. We stayed for 2 nights after the wedding too and it was a perfect place to relax and unwind after a stressful few weeks. Oscar was fantastic and took a lot of stress of the day away from us. He was organising coconuts on the wedding morning and finding an electrician to put up fairy lights for us the night before!

I honestly cannot recommend Ghana Beach House enough for a relaxing weekend with family or a wedding. It will now always have a very special place in our hearts and we look forward to coming back many times more over the next few years!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy B
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We would definitely go back”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent four days with our children (ages 12, 8, 6, 4) at this beach house.

The many picture on this site (and the house's website) are quite accurate.

It is important to get a cell number for the manager, as it is not the easiest place to find. You have to keep going further than you imagine, so you keep wondering if you've gone too far.

I will say that the beach is not very clean, but I think that’s common for Ghana. One day we went out at low tide and the beach was FULL of trash, but the next day there was hardly any. I think that it depends a lot on the winds and the currents and how the waves are. There is also a fishing village about 30 minutes down the beach. You can always see the boats out of the water. We walked down to the village one day and could see them building new boats, repairing old ones, rolling them out to the water. There are some rocky bits, but they are fun to poke around in during low tide. Although, again, there is a fair bit of garbage that has gotten snagged on the rocks.

The house is about a 10 minute taxi ride to Kokrobitee beach, where there is quite the nightlife (so I read), they have concerts there on the weekend, etc. There’s also a surf school called Mr Brights. I’d wanted to have lessons for the kids, but the guy didn’t respond to my emails in time.

The house itself is quite nice, but is starting to show its age a tiny bit. A couple of cracks in the walls, some tiles missing from the floor of the pool, many of the windows/doors that don’t open because they’ve swollen from the salt, rain, humidity, etc. But overall, we really --really!--enjoyed it. The house was very clean and is a an excellent layout. There is no TV or wifi, and MTN had a hard time connecting out there.

It should be very clear to guest that you are responsible for the cost of both water and diesel. Personally, we didn’t mind eating by candle-light… but the AC requires power and (more importantly) the refrigerator. The diesel is 150 GHC, which last about 12 hours (so from 6pm-6am), but then there’s a 50 GHC delivery charge for the taxi driver who brings it. I don’t think that power outages are too common there, but in our case someone hit one of the poles for the power lines, so it was down for 2 days. I had to go to the mall (there is a big, VERY NICE mall about 30 mins from the beach house… it’s only about 6 months old) to buy sunscreen, so we picked up our own diesel. It was about 150 GHC for two nights’ worth, and no additional for the taxi because we were already going.

Personally, my biggest —an only— complaint about this place was the way they handle water and diesel fees. The water tank was 3/4 full when we arrived, but they wanted us to pay the full amount to fill it up. It seems you have to pay the full 250 GHC when you arrive, regardless of how much was left in the tank OR how much you use. Same with the diesel. There’s no way it’s empty when you arrive (they always have some), but you still pay the full amount. It's possible that they feel it's easier that way, but I found it difficult to justify being charged for 100% of a tank of water, without any proof or confirmation of how much was used.

Hope this is helpful. Even with the issue with the water and diesel, I would still highly recommend this place and would definitely go back. My kids all had a wonderful time and talk about it often.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house and the proximity to the beach.
Liked least: The manner in which fees for water and diesel are charged.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most relaxing holiday we have ever had!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 12 days in this glorious house by the sea. We swam, played tennis "Langma cup"!!, ate wonderful food prepared by our in-house chef Vincent, slept, relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was definitely the perfect place to unwind and reboot after a couple of busy weeks in Accra.
Highly recommended for its peaceful and stunning setting, you have to pinch yourself to believe you are actually there!!! Oscar and the team make you feel warmly welcomed and arrange things for you, like driver and car to visit the gold coast, it really is a wonderful place to stay and rewind. We felt ready to re-enter the mad world we live in after this holiday. It comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning house and the beautiful location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VJJ7
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent chill out zone accommodation”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

By Ghanaian standards this is a fabulous property - it has a few glitches (shower upstairs does not run hot or fast), aircons do not always work properly - but it's location and layout are superb. Although the rental cost is extremely good, the "extras" - water, diesel, food and cook wages, clothes washing, amounted to considerably more than we had anticipated. We seemed to be paying out continuously for the first 24 hours.
The property is situated on an incredibly bad track, 35 minutes from the main road, which means you are reluctant to travel elsewhere (eg in to Accra).
BUT, having said all that, as a chill out property, with a really high standard of cleanliness and space and facilities, it's absolutely fabulous. Totally recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool, location near the beach, cleanliness, staff friendliness
Liked least: Poor upstairs shower (but downstairs ones are great), poor aircon in 2 rooms.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$285
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing